[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 73°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

Coaches all-state team released

Sunday, March 30, 2008

D.D. Gillespie
JEFFERSON CITY -- Several local basketball players have earned post-season honors as the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association has released their all-

state high school basketball team.

For Class 4, Sikeston's 6-5 junior Michael Porter was selected for the MCBA team. Porter averaged 19.6 points per game and 9.7 rebounds per game and was the focal point for the 22-4 Bulldogs.

Also selected to the MBCA team Class 4 boys team was Notre Dame's Ryan Willen while Notre Dame head coach Paul Hale received coach of the year honors. Notre Dame won the Class 4 state championship defeating St. Charles West in the finals.

On the girls side of Class 4, Dexter's Katelyn Heil earned the MBCA selection after averaging 18 points and 7.7 rebounds per game while helping her team to a district championship and a 22-5 record.

Kellye Penn
Tony Jones represented East Prairie in Class 3 honors. The 6-3 senior averaged 19 points and 11 rebounds per game for the Eagles.

In girls Class 3, senior Kellye Penn of Portageville and Sara Woodgeard of Greenville also made the MBCA all-state team. Penn was the senior leader for the Bulldogs, averaging 16 points and 6.7 rebounds per game while leading Portageville to their first district title in 20 years.

For the Class 2 boys 6-6 senior William Cooper joined the MBCA team for Hayti.

In Class 1 a duo of Scott County Central players were selected as senior D.D. Gillespie and junior Drew Thomas both made the coaches selection. Gillespie averaged 18.3 points per game while Thomas averaged 19.5 points and 6.5 rebounds per game to help their team to a third place finish in the state final four.

Jordan Boone of Gideon, Dustin Ferguson of Clarkton and Nick Niemczyk of Bell City also made the all-state squad.

Drew Thomas
For the girls Class 1 Delta sophomore Taylor Smith received coaches honors while Delta head coach Randy White received girls coach of the year. Delta lost to Cairo in the Class 1 state championship game.

A complete list of the MBCA all-state teams can be found in the scoreboard.