[Nameplate] Fair ~ 88°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

Bratcher named to first team

Wednesday, March 23, 2005

Members of the first team SEMO All-Conference
POPLAR BLUFF -- Tyler Hansbrough was named the most outstanding player in the SEMO Conference and became the first player to be named to the all-

conference team four times Tuesday night at the 45th annual Poplar Bluff Letter Club Basketball Banquet.

Poplar Bluff swept the conference awards winning both titles with undefeated season while Mules coach John David Pattillo and Lady Mules coach Kirk Chronister were each named coach of the year.

Poplar Bluff senior Tierra Johnson was also named the most outstanding player, picking up the Bob Gray Award, while Hansbrough was given the John Gibbs Award for the third straight year.

Hansbrough, who is headed to North Carolina in the fall and will play in the McDonald's All-American game next week, also won the conference scoring award by averaging 24 points a game and the free-throw award hitting 83.0 percent of his attempts.

Ben Hansbrough joined his brother on the first team of the all-conference squad, which is selected by the coaches, while Brad Chronister and Allan Spencer were named to the second team.

Charleston's Ashton Farmer was on the first team for the second straight year while sophomore Jamarcus Williams (first team) and Shawn Sherrell (second team) were also honored.

Sikeston's Kash Bratcher was named to the first team with Kyle Hubbard of Caruthersville, Jack Puisis of Jackson, Dexter's Chris Guethle, Cape Central's Eli Harris and Dontavis Jones of Kennett.

Johnson was named to the first team for the second straight season.

Dexter's Rachel Blunt, who won the scoring award by averaging 18.7 points per conference game, Jackson junior Bobbie Jones, Notre Dame sophomore Kristain Burger and freshman Hailee Deckard of Doniphan were also on the first team.

The Lady Mules, who finished 7-0 in conference play winning by an average of 23 points per game, also had Kristin Ploetze and Jenny Hillis on the second team.

Doniphan sophomore Morgan Davis, who was a second team selection, earned the free-throw award by hitting 88.4 percent of her shots.

Three boys teams -- Poplar Bluff, Charleston and Notre Dame -- reached the state final four while three girls teams -- Poplar Bluff, Dexter and Doniphan -- advanced to the quarterfinals this season. The Mules won their second straight Class 5 title while the Bluejays were second in Class 3 and the Bulldogs, who were 0-9 in conference play, finished fourth in Class 4.