[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016

Many issues are before voters in Tuesday election

Thursday, April 1, 2004

SIKESTON - Sikeston voters will have plenty of decisions to make April 6.

There will be contests in two of the three Sikeston City Council positions on the ballot.

Incumbent Sue Rogers will face William Stokes for another term in her at-large seat.

Jerry Pullen, incumbent in Ward 1, faces Richard Wrather for the ward seat.

Michael Harris is unopposed on the ballot for another term as the Ward 4 representative. All are three-year terms.

In the Sikeston R-6 School District, Mary White-Ross, Angela Longstreet, Paul Boyd and Jera Lincoln are competing for two openings to serve three years on the Board of Education.

The race to be the Miner's next mayor has two candidates: incumbent Frank Tatum and Mitchell "Mitch" Thompson. In Ward 1, Heather Alexander and Donna Thomas are listed as candidates. Incumbent Betty Barnes and Peggy Holman are on the ballot for Ward 2. Each of these positions have two-year terms.

Norris Edwards, Jackie James and Larry Tetley appear on the ballot for a three-year term on the Sikeston Special Road District Commission.

Those in the Southern Scott County Ambulance District will choose either Barbara P. Hill or Craig Hahs for a three-year term as sub-district 2 director.

Geri Lynn Hennemann is unopposed on the ballot in Benton's Ward 1, and Jim Arteme is the only candidate listed for Ward 2 alderman. Both positions have two-year terms.

Kelso has only two candidates listed for the two two-year openings on its Board of Trustees: Chuck Miller and Larry McClain.

Commerce voters have three candidates for the three openings on its Board of Trustees: Bobby Ledure, Alan Wright and Terri Williams.

Candidates for the two Scott County R-4 (Kelly) Board of Education director seats are Tony Powell, Wayne Rockett, Lisa Howell and Janet Lee Kline. The terms run for three years.

In Oran, Tom Urhahn is the sole candidate for mayor, Marcia Roslen is unopposed for collector, Jimmy Westrich is alone on the ballot for Ward 3 and Gaylon Bryeans II is the only Ward 4 candidate.

Residents of Ward 1 in Oran will choose between Ronald L. Diebold Sr. and Harold J. Landewee, and Ward 2 residents will pick Bob Ressel or Ronald L. Diebold Jr. for their representative.

Wilfred "Will" Bucher, the current vice president, and incumbent Rosalia Friga face challenges from Eric Urhahn and Thomas L. Seyer for another three years on the Oran R-3 School District Board of Education.

Diehlstadt has three two-year terms open on its Board of Trustees with Glen Perry appearing alone on the ballot.

In Blodgett, Kenny Plunk and Richard Riley are the only candidates listed for the two Board of Trustee openings. The terms run for two years.

Chaffee has a single candidate for Ward 2, Bob Sullivan, only one person listed for the Ward 3 seat, David "Mike" Jobe, and only one candidate on the ballot for Ward 4, Jesse Jack Nordin.

Residents of Ward 1 in Chaffee will select either Bruce W. Skinner or Lum Stricklin.

Running for the two open seats on the Chaffee R-2 school board are Ronald Eifert Jr., Donnie Kiefer and Stan Shields. The terms are three years.

Running unopposed in Scott City are Tim Porch for four years as mayor, Bill Schwartz for the Ward 1 council seat, Larry G. Taylor in Ward 2, Joe McDaniel in Ward 3 and Darren V. Raines in Ward 4.

Four candidates are competing for the two Board of Education director positions in the R-1 Scott County School District: Debbie Miller, Lisa G. Schaefer, James Yetman and Roger R. Buckner.

Vanduser voters have only Jerry L. Thompson and Dale Keith appearing on the ballot for the two Board of Trustee positions. The terms are for two years.

In Morley, incumbent Hallie Granville is unopposed in her re-election bid, as is Tony Lackey in Ward 1 and Sheila L. Scherer in Ward 2.

Haywood City has no candidates listed for its two Board of Trustee openings.

Running for the two three-year positions on the Scott County Central School District Board of Education are Michelle Fodge, Steve Johnson, Tanya Johnson Monroe and Linda Williams.

Voters in the R-5 school district will also decide whether or not to borrow $1.9 million and issue bonds to build, equip and furnish a new gymnasium and additional classrooms, restrooms and storage space to develop a separate junior high school wing.