[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 91°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016

Local counties eligible for aid

Sunday, May 26, 2002

POPLAR BLUFF - Residents and local governments in Scott, New Madrid and Mississippi counties are now available for disaster assistance to recover from the effects of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.

Twenty-four more Missouri counties were added to the presidential disaster declaration for individual assistance from FEMA. In addition to the three local counties, residents in Camden, Cedar, Christian, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Laclede, McDonald, Newton, Pemiscot, Polk, Stone, Vernon and Wright counties are now eligible to apply for grants to help pay for temporary lodging needs, minor home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses.

FEMA director Joe M. Allbaugh said the counties were added to the list of eligible jurisdictions at the request of Gov. Bob Holden after a review of the damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

"We remain committed to ensuring that every qualified family and business receives the help they need and that vital community facilities are restored to full service as quickly as possible," Allbaugh said.

The way for individuals to apply for federal/state assistance is by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday, until further notice. During the Memorial Day weekend observance, the FEMA toll-free registration will be closed Sunday and Monday.