[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 71°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Sharks swim in final meet

Monday, July 15, 2002

Sikeston's Jake Pewitt won the 100 freestyle race in the boys 9-10 class of Saturday's meet at Scott City
(photo by David Jenkins, Staff)
SCOTT CITY -- Sikeston's swim team traveled to Scott City on Saturday, competing in its final meet before the Southeast Missouri Swim Conference Championships.

The Sharks took second place with 370.5 points. The host team came in first with 721 points. Poplar Bluff took third with 219, followed by Farmington with 150.5 and Ste. Genevieve with 11.

In the girls 8 and under, Amanda Allen took first place in the 25 breast with a time of 25.43. In boys 9-10, Gratten Allen took first in the 50 breast with a time of 49.58.

In the boys 11-12 division, Mark Fraser won the 200 individual medley at 4:11.40. Mary-Claire Gleason took top honors in the girls 6 and under 25 back with a time of 40.29.

In the boys 6 and under class, Joseph Hunter won the 25 breast with a time of 1:52.10.

Mary Kendig took first in the girls 8 and under 25 free (22.09) and 25 back (27.68). In the girls 6 and under class, Mary Klueppel won the 25 breast with a time of 46.65.

In the boys 15-18, Ben F. Marshall won the 100 free (1:01.09), 100 back (1:16.68), 100 fly (1:10.96) and 50 free (27.78). Lauren Medley won the girls 13-14 100 breast with a time of 1:34.39. In the boys 9-10 class, Jake Pewitt won the 100 free (1:35.46) and 100 IM (1:45.09).

The 8 and under 100 medley relay team of Alyssa Basham, Amanda Allen, Kendig and Annie Pewitt took first with a time of 1:53.43.

The Southeast Missouri Swim Conference Championships will take place July 20 at Cape Girardeau. Teams set to compete in the meet include Kennett, Poplar Bluff, Sikeston, Charleston, Paducah, Scott City, Cape Girardeau, Jackson, Perryville, Ste. Genevieve, Farmington and Bonne Terre.