[Nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

SAY Team of the Day: House of Color

Monday, July 15, 2002

SIKESTON -- The House of Color took sixth place in the National League this year, finishing with a record of 3-9.

Returning just one player from the year before, the season went about like head coach Terry Lambert expected.

"This was a new league to everybody except Nick (Lambert)," he explained. "We had so many boys that played in the American League last year, they were kind of intimidated about playing in the biggest league out there."

As time went on, House of Color adjusted to the high level of competition, upsetting National League power American Legion toward the end of the year.

Unfortunately, the team's catcher was injured and missed the rest of the season. HOC was seeded sixth in the year-end tournament and lost in the first round.

Nick Lambert was the team's ace. He also played first base and shortstop when he wasn't on the mound. Logan Kirkpatrick played first base and also pitched.

Stuart Strom played second, Blair Bohannon was at short, Nathan Ballard was at third and Bobby Gray III was the catcher. In the outfield, Clint Boswell played left, Braxton Britton was in center and Jesse Robert was in right. Chaz Marshall also played outfield.

Lambert was a first team all-star. Bohannon and Kirkpatrick were both second team all-stars.

"The one who came along the most was Braxton Britton," said Lambert. "He played in Musial League last year because he got here late. He moved all the way up to the National League this year, and stepping up two leagues like that is hard to do. He did a good job of adjusting as the season went on. We played better as the season went on. In the last several games, we were in every game."

Members of the 2002 House of Color team in the National League of Sikeston Area Youth Baseball are Nick Lambert, Chaz Marshall, Clint Boswell, Jesse Roberts, Braxton Britton, Bobby Gray III, Nathan Ballard, Stuart Strom, Blair Bohannon and Logan Kirkpatrick. The team was coached by Terry Lambert, Kevin Kirkpatrick and Randy Bohannon.