[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

School boards will see some new faces after April election

Thursday, January 23, 2003

SIKESTON - When filing for area school boards closed Tuesday evening, it became apparent that there will be some new faces around the table following the April 1 election.

All the terms are for three years with the districts each having two openings to fill.

Neither Dan Jennings nor Steve Millington filed for re-election to the Scott County R-6 (Sikeston) school board. Seeking to fill the terms are Ann W. Jones, Mary L. White-Ross, Julie Crader Dolan and Harvey Cooper.

The Scott County Central's school board incumbents Tim McIntyre and Kenny Rodgers also are not seeking additional terms, however four candidates, Randy Grant, Melissa Hubbert, Steve Pobst and Mark Stokes, have placed their names into contention for the two openings on the board.

Patrons in the Scott County R-4 School District (Kelly) will fill the two three-year terms now held by Jim Simmons and Laurie Romas. Romas did not file for re-election, however Simmons is seeking another term. Other candidates are Mitchell Sander, Tony Powell and Joe Stuckey.

The terms of Oran School Boardmembers Tom Urhahn and Carla Graviett are expiring and both are seeking re-election. Marvin Glueck is challenging their election to a three-year term.

Only the incumbents are seeking election to the East Prairie School Board. Members Ricky Penrod and Martin Lucas have filed for re-election.

Five candidates are seeking the two openings on the Charleston Board of Education. Incumbent Dr. Ron Petersen along with Shelby Fox, Kay Johnson, Alberta B. Redd, and Patrick Farmer filed for office. Current boardmember Clay Shelby is not seeking re-election.

Gideon School Board members Joe Woolverton and Bill McCain filed for re-election to three-year terms. Also on the list of candidates are Sharon Keown and Jan Parker.

No changes will be made on the New Madrid County R-1 Board with only incumbents Jean Higgerson and Ralph E. Barnwell putting their names on the candidate list.

Portageville School District Board member Wallace Kellams, who now serves as board president, is not seeking re-election but incumbent boardmember Dr. David Boyd is along with Ronnie Adams.

Keith Hicks filed for re-election to Richland School District Board however boardmember Randy Corlew will not seek another term. In addition to Hicks, the candidates for the two three-year terms are David Wheeler, Tom Stafford, David Wyman and Dennis Thornton.