[Nameplate] Fair ~ 90°F  
Feels like: 96°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

City races are set

Thursday, January 23, 2003

Sikeston primary scheduled for Feb. 4

SIKESTON - While filing to serve on the Sikeston and Charleston city councils ended in November, filing in other area municipalities concluded Tuesday.

Sikeston will have a primary election on Feb. 4 with Ward 2 voters to narrow the list of Jim Terrell, Shad Old and Kevin Melrose to two candidates.

Filed for the two three-year council positions in Charleston are incumbent James D. Conn, incumbent Marshall G. Currin, Tony E. Trousdale and John C. Tucker. As no more than two candidates are filed per seat, Charleston will not have a primary election.

The municipal election will be April 1.

In other municipalities:

* Filing closed in Miner with races for both the open ward seats with Deloris Smith and incumbent Donna Thomas filing in Ward 1 and Roberta Wills and incumbent Tom Brock filing in Ward 2, according to Janet Tuttle, city clerk.

Miner Board of Alderman terms run for two-years.

Incumbent Phyllis Hepler is unopposed in her bid for another four-year term as city collector.

* Filed unopposed for two-year terms as of the deadline in Benton are Howard Bollinger for a Board of Aldermen seat from Ward 1, David Mack for Ward 2, and Beverly Riley for city collector. Joe Stuckey is the sole candidate for the four-year mayor position.

All of the Benton candidates are incumbents, according to City Clerk Connie Barnett.

* Filed for a two-year term as city collector in East Prairie are Tracy Grogan, Carol Marks and Mary Anne Mainord. Incumbent Janice Drummond did not refile. "She's retiring - she's going to enjoy life and her grand kids," said City Clerk Lori Lemons.

Incumbent Gene Ditto is unopposed in his bid for another two years as mayor, as are incumbents Shirley Pritchett in Ward 1 and Keith Grissom in Ward 2.

In Ward 3, incumbent Avery T. Hutcheson did not refile leaving Kevin P. Mainord unopposed in this ward as well.

All the board seats are for two years.

* Only incumbents put there names on the ballot at Matthews for the April 1 election. Mayor Gene Curtis, First Ward Boardmember Jim Burch, who was appointed earlier to the job, and W.H. Gilmer Jr., Ward 2 boardmember, are seeking election to two-year terms

* Two races will happen in Morehouse. Eric Hutchison, who is serving as the town's chief deputy, and Gary Purnell are seeking the job of city marshal. In Ward 2, Eddie Stinnett and Kenneth Tackett filed to fill a one-year unexpired term as boardmember.

Seeking election to two-year terms are Mayor Pete Leija; City Collector Karen Williams; Angela Webb, municipal judge; Judy Gosnell Green, Ward 1 boardmember; and Jackie Hays Sr., Ward 2 boardmember.

* With two incumbents stepping aside, but only one person filing for the three two-year openings on the board of aldermen, there will be some new faces on the board but no contested elections. In Ward 1 Howard E. Crisler has filed to take the post currently held by Clement Cravens while in Ward 2, Dwayne Stanley is seeking the board seat now held by Ann Evans Copeland. Gary "Doc" Cowan is seeking re-election in Ward 3.

* Portageville residents in Ward 1 will decide between incumbent Delmar Edgar, who currently serves on the board, and James "Butch" Williams. In Ward 2, Lindell Hoggard did not seek re-election and Ervin Gremard is seeking the job. Also unopposed are Mayor Henry Maclin and City Collector Michelle Crawford.

All jobs are for two year terms except the city collector's post which is a four-year term.

* In Oran, Jimmy Robinson and incumbent Ed Evans are filed in Ward 1; Gil Roslen in Ward 2; incumbent Jimmy Westrich and Bill Anderson in Ward 3; and incumbent Barb Kennedy and Lori Todt in Ward 4.