[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Tripp earns first Pro win

Wednesday, September 11, 2002

Sikeston Drag Strip owner Ray Poirier, second from left, congratulates Jerry Tripp for his Super Pro Class win on Saturday night.
Here are the weekend race results from tracks around the area. Look for more results in the scoreboard on page 12.


SIKESTON -- Mike Buckley posted his first win of the season with a hard charge for the Super Pro points championship on Saturday. He ran 5.86 on a 5.85 dial at 121 m.p.h. His reaction time was .506. Buckley finished second in points. David Phillips, of Puxico, took second in Super Pro with a 6.11 dial. He ran 6.12 at 113 m.p.h. His reaction time was .493 red.

In the Pro Class, Fredericktown's Jerry Tripp took home the top money and posted his first win of the season. Tripp ran 6.68 on a 6.68 dial at 101 m.p.h. His reaction time was .519.

In the E.T. Class, East Prairie's Tre Hammontree won with a 8.13 dial. he ran 8.18 at 77 m.p.h. His reaction time was .510. Dongola's Josh Ames finished second. He ran 7.10 on a 7.09 dial at 96 m.p.h. His reaction time was .608.


BENTON -- Action was fast and furious Saturday night at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark in Benton. Mike Ward visited victory lane once again in the KFVS 12 Winged Sprints with Chris Hall, Patrick Naeger, Rick Ruch, Josh Southard and Shawn Koenig earning checkers in their divisions.

The KFVS 12 Winged Sprints put on an exciting show with Mike Ward of Memphis, Tenn earning his third win on the year at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark. Alex Shanks closed in on the leader earlier but finished behind him in second while Robbie Standridge, Jerrod Hull and Daron Clayton rounded out the top-five finishers.

Clayton put the #92 car out front for the first five laps before being passed by Ward for the top position. Shanks trailed Clayton for the next four laps before passing the Sikeston racer for the runner-up position. Clayton's machine began to fade back as several cars passed him putting the driver out of the top-five.

Rookie driver Chad Sauders fell back early after starting third but moved back into the position on the tenth lap with Jimmy Kite behind him.

The entire field slowed on the 18th lap when Sauders put the car on its roof while running in the third position bringing out the red flag.

On the restart Ward and Shanks controlled the front spots for the next seven laps to the finish. Clayton moved up to the third position after falling back to ninth but would end up finishing fifth after a last lap passed by Standridge and Hull who finished third and fourth.

Heat wins went to Clayton, Todd Rowland and Sauders. Standridge clinched the 2002 KFVS 12 Winged Sprint car track champion for the second straight year for the Joe Reddick Racing 12x team.

Chris Hall never led a full lap of the Miller Lite Open-Wheel Modified feature earning the win on a final lap pass of leader Danny Sissom and second place runner Shawn Haynes for the win.

Haynes took the lead at the start of the race with Sissom and Leo Kiefer running behind him. Haynes led the next 12 laps before falling to Sissom for the top-position, while Hall was moving from his seventh starting position to third and pacing toward the front.

While Sissom checked out from the field Hall and Haynes battled for the next two positions. Haynes and Hall fought side by side and began to close in on the leader, who was dealing with lapped traffic. On the final lap Sissom got behind a backmarker letting Haynes and Hall close in on the leader. Coming out of the fourth turn for the win Hall took a hard run off the high line slicing his way to victory lane.

Haynes passed Sissom to finish second with the #95 car of Sissom finishing third. Doug Moore moved from the ninth starting position to finish fourth with Jeff Parmer ending the night in fifth.

Heat race wins went to Haynes, Keifer and Sissom.

After barrel rolling his #29 Pure Street machine a couple weeks ago Patrick Naeger was able to put the same car back in victory lane. Naeger gave thanks to a tremendous amount of help for his friends and crew for the help in repairing the once destroyed car while in victory lane.

Naeger took the lead at the drop of the green flag with Matt Naeger moving into second place by the end of the second lap. Derek Despain, Jeff Beeson and Eric Scott battled out for the next three positions.

The two Perryville racers of Patrick and Matt stayed in the same positions throughout the entire 15 laps being slowed four times by cautions flags, finishing first and second. Scott was able to finish in third with Despain finishing fourth and Gene Kay rounding out the top-five.

Patrick won the first heat race and Matt took the second heat race win.

The Motorsports Unlimited Cruiser feature found Josh Southard and Shawn Koenig in victory lane for the second time this year. The husband and wife team of Chris and Lisa Scheffer finished second with Jason Guardian and Daniel Hancock finishing third. Lowell and Josh Calder ended the night in fourth with Rick and Gary Knight finishing fifth.

Browning and Dunning took heat #1 win and Jeff Trankler and Wayne Bartles won the second heat.

The RAMS Mini-Stock paid a visit to the 3/8th-mile dirt oval for the second time this season. Rick Ruch led all 10 laps of the feature event to earn the win. Kevin Buckley finished just behind Ruch in second with David Wofford crossing the line in the third position.


MALDEN -- DeWayne Keifer made the long haul from Ste. Genevieve to Malden a good one with a Late Model feature victory. Keifer found a lane just inside Larry Hillis coming out of turn two on the second lap to take the lead, and would hold it the rest of the way. Hillis held on to second with Lyndon Moore third. Barry Woodard just edged Scott Gibbs at the finish line to take fourth as the pair went under the flag side by side.

Heat winners were Hillis & Keifer.

In one of the best one-two battles of the year, Shawn Haynes edged Jeremy Conner by a bumper for the win. Haynes grabbed the lead from the pole, but held it only to lap 4, when Conner made a move under him coming out of turn two to take over. Conner would lead until the white flag lap with Haynes hounding him all the way. Haynes pulled even with Conner going into turn three the final lap and won the drag race from turn four to the checkered to grab the win. Tim Radford took third. Jerry Jackson and Jess Short rounded out the top five.

Haynes also won the heat race.

Gregg Layne returned to victory lane in the #50 Hobby Stock car for the third time in four races. Layne jumped out to the lead at the start as both he and the race went "Green-White-Checkered" with no interruption. Layne had built a 4 second lead over runner up Jamie Robards in the 69R. There was plenty of 3-wide and at times 4-wide racing for the 2nd to 5th spots. Doug Moore piloted the 007 to third. Richard Greenway and Chuck Tilley rounded out the top five.