[Nameplate] Fair ~ 79°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016

Portageville voters pass bond issue

Wednesday, November 5, 2003

NEW MADRID - Although voter turnout was light in the eight precincts where ballots were cast in Tuesday's election, the results were overwhelming.

Portageville voters by an almost 2-1 margin approved a proposal to issue in bonds and Terry Swinger easily won election to the Missouri Legislature.

After going down to defeat in August, the city of Portageville went back to the voters to seek approval of the in $2,300,000 revenue bonds to fund improvements to the city's waterworks.

The unofficial tally from the office of New Madrid County Clerk Jim W. Farrenburg showed 305 residents of Portageville cast yes ballots while there were 161 no votes. Vote totals by precinct (only city residents in the precincts could cast ballots on the bond issue) were Portage 1: 140 yes, 64 no; Portage 2: 164 yes, 95 no; absentee: 1 yes and 2 no. The bonds will be repaid through the operation of the city's water and sewage systems.

With the resignation June 10 of Democrat Denny J. Merideth III as the 162nd representative, which includes Pemiscot County and parts of Dunklin and New Madrid counties, voters went to the polls Tuesday to choose a replacement. Terry Swinger of Caruthersville won the House seat.

Swinger, a Democrat, received 60 percent of the overall vote, while Republican Bill Wagner of Portageville got 23 percent and independent Shirley T. Johnson of Steele received 17 percent.

In the New Madrid precincts casting ballots on the House seat, the unofficial totals were 529 for Swinger; 230 for Wagner with 47 votes going to Johnson. By precincts the votes were: Anderson 1 and 2, Swinger 58, Wagner 29, Johnson 6; Como 1 and 2, Swinger 47, Wagner 12, Johnson 1; Como 3 and 4, Swinger 53, Wagner 17, Johnson 4; LaFont 3, Swinger 17, Wagner 16, Johnson 1; LeSieur 1, Swinger 17, Wagner 13, and Johnson 2; Portage 1, Swinger 138, Wagner 66, Johnson 11; Portage 2, Swinger 178, Wagner 68, Johnson 22; Portage 3, Swinger 16, Wagner 6, Johnson 0; and absentees, Swinger 5, Wagner 3; and Johnson 0.