[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Looking Back 6/8

Tuesday, June 8, 2004

60 years ago

SIKESTON - The guests of Mr. and Mrs. James Lomax this week were: Mr. J.W. Westbrook and her son from Orlando, Fla.; Mrs. H.B. Moore from Caruthersville; a cousin and daughter, L.A. Laster and Susan Laster from Walnut Ridge, Ark,; Mrs. Nettie Gamblin and Jones Gamblin, wife and daughter; Jessie Bell from Fulton, Ky.; and mother, Mrs. Nancy Lomax from Canalou.

40 years ago

SIKESTON - Fourteen boys will leave Sikeston for the 1962 Missouri Boys State at Warrensburg at 6 a.m. June 13 and will return on June 20. Those attending are: Charles D. Ancell, William F. Baird, Rice P. Burns, David G. Collier, Jim Crenshaw, John T. Critchlow, Terry B. McDonald, William Dout Marsh, John L. Marshall, Franklin J. Stuwe, Ronald E. Summers, Steve L. Taylor, William C. Vandivort and Jimmy D. Wilson.

20 years ago

SIKESTON - Workers were busy Wednesday afternoon constructing driveways to connect North Main Street to what will be a new parking area at Missouri Delta Community Hospital. Driveway construction was ordered during initial stages of expansion to allow the earliest possible access to the parking area from the north to south boundaries in from of the hospital.

10 years ago

NEW MADRID - Jeremy Dees, a 1994 graduate of New Madrid County Central High School, is the seventh recipient of the William Vest Riley scholarship. The scholarship was presented by Riley's grandson, Jim Cravens, also a 1994 graduate of NMCC.

* * *

SIKESTON - Murray State University Rodeo Club officers for 1994-95 are, Jenny Keller of Dexter, reporter; Ericka Shand of Rutland, Vt., public relations director; Jayma Jo Shomaker of McKenzie, Tenn., secretary; Timothy Marcus Reed of West Frankfort, Ill., vice president; Julie Stoner of Sikeston, treasurer; and Shay Miles of Anna, Ill., president.