[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Ballots set in New Madrid County

Thursday, March 28, 2002

NEW MADRID - On Tuesday, New Madrid County residents will head to the polls to select their city officials along with school board members.

The sole race facing Catron residents is for the office of city marshal with Blake Sindle and James Russom the candidates. Unopposed are Charles Joyce, mayor; Joy Russom, collector; Steve Joyce, Ward 1 alderman; and Bubba Southard, Ward 2 alderman. No one filed for the opening as Canalou police judge.

Two persons - Phillip Hillis and Barbara Matlock - are seeking election to the Catron Board of Trustees and a third opening on the board will be filled by write-in votes.

Gideon's mayor, Louise Shock, has filed for re-election and will be opposed by Lawrence Jordan. Running without opposition will be Gideon Chief of Police James Pickard, South Ward Alderman Cleo Payne and in the North Ward, Kevin Keown has filed. The mayor and board posts are for two-year terms while the job of police chief is a four-term in Gideon.

Candidates for mayor of Howardville include Clennon "Jim" Farr, Jessie Newson Jr. and Simon Wofford. In Ward 1, the office of alderman is being sought by Robert Young, Billy Ray Williams and Birdie Duff. Running unopposed in Ward 2 for the office of alderman is Mary L. Johnson and Clois Y. Taylor is unopposed for the office of police judge. In addition to electing officials, Howardville residents are being asked to convert the four-part city tax levy to a single general operations levy in the amount of $1 per $100 valuation; the current levy is $1.25 total.

There is a four-way race already for the office of Lilbourn city marshal and the offices of mayor and alderman are contested as well. Candidates for the office of city marshal to fill a four-year term are incumbent Alvin Bobo, Donald Hanner, Timothy (T.C.) Collins and Raymond Creasy. A two-year term as mayor is sought by Larry Joe Hamilton, who currently fills the job, and Frank Ash.

In Lilbourn Ward 2, Larry Joe Holtzhouser is opposed in his bid for re-election as alderman by Danny Ruark and Barry Ash. Robert Taylor has filed for re-election as Ward 1 alderman and will face Ronald G. Ivie in Tuesday's election. Both alderman posts are two-year terms. Collector Yvonne Morgan has filed for re-election to a two-year term and Richard Kolwyck is seeking the office of police judge.

The incumbents are being challenged in their re-election bids to represent the residents of Marston. Mayor Paul Haubold will face Becky Redden in the April election. In the South Ward, Donald Ferguson, who was appointed to fill the board seat, is being challenged by Shannon Sprouse for the one-year term and for a two-year term in the ward, incumbent Wayne Ruby is opposed by Sydney Williams. North Ward Alderman Robert Silman and George Lance are seeking election to a two-year term on the board. No one filed for the office of police judge.

There are two openings for two-year terms on the Matthews Board of Aldermen. Elaine Vandever is running unopposed for re-election in Ward 1 and in Ward 2, incumbent Armand Porter will be opposed in Tuesday's election by Bud Armstrong.

The incumbents will face challengers for election to the two-year terms on the Morehouse Board of Aldermen. Ward 1 board member Evelyn Comstock is opposed by L.V. Brothers and in Ward 2 Sharon Buckley is challenging current boardmember "Pop" Parr.

Contests have developed for four of the seven openings in New Madrid's city government which will be filled in the April election. Each incumbent alderman faces a challenge with Bobby Martin filing against Ward 1 Alderman Dick St. Mary, incumbent Russell Riggs opposed by Bobby Blom in Ward 2 and in Ward 3, alderman Glen Medlin is being challenged by William Kosky Jr. City Marshal Claude McFerren is opposed in his re-election bid by Tommy Hunter. Also filing for re-election but unopposed are Mayor Mark Baker, City Police Judge Bill Boyd and City Collector Sherry Phillips.

Residents of North Lilbourn have a field of five candidates to select from to fill the three openings on the board of trustees. These are Mary E. Evans, Mamie Blair, Jessie Newson, Walter Moore and Leonard Thomas.

For Parma's Ward 1 alderman's post, Steve Lewis and Lisa A. Kirk are seeking the post while in Ward 2, Floyd L. Shaw is unopposed for election to the Parma Board of Aldermen.

Incumbents have indicated their interest in being returned to office in Portageville and one is opposed in their re-election bid. Phyllis Pate, who currently fills the Ward 1 position on the board, is opposed on the ballot by Lynn Doering for election to a two-year term. Unopposed for two-year terms are Ward 2 Alderman Bruce Martin and Bill Foster, municipal court judge.

There are three openings, mayor and aldermen from the East and West wards, but no races for Risco citizens to decide. James Hensley filed for re-election to a two-year term on the board in the East Ward and in the West Ward, Joe Rowe has filed to fill the office now held by Brad Lancaster, who didn't seek re-election. Mayor Don Lancaster is seeking re-election to a four-year term.

It is a short ballot for consideration by Tallapoosa residents, with none of the candidates facing opposition. Seeking election are Frank Smith, mayor; Barbara Copeland, city clerk; and Mary Manning, two-year term as North Ward alderman. No one filed for a one-year unexpired term representing North Ward residents or a two-year term as alderman from the South Ward.

Three persons have filed for the three openings for three-year terms on the Gideon School District. Candidates are Steve Richards, Rickie D. Branch and Courtney Boone. Seeking a two-year term is Devon Buchanan.

The incumbents have filed for re-election to three-year terms on the New Madrid County R-1 School District. The candidates are Scott Riley, Johnny Davis and Don Brittain.

Portageville School District patrons will see some new faces on their board following the election with no incumbents seeking election. The candidates are Mark D. Moody, Tina E. DeLisle and Lynda Priggel.

Patrons in the Risco R-2 School District will select from among five candidates to fill the three three-year terms open on the board. Vying for the office are Mark Halford, Jim King, Rhonda L. Duckworth, Kathy Michele Knight and Keenan Carlisle.

Harold L. Hayes and Kevin R. Young are vying for the three-year term open on the New Madrid County Ambulance Board.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.