[Nameplate] T-storm ~ 77°F  
High: 90°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Mississippi County voters head to polls Tuesday

Friday, March 29, 2002

CHARLESTON - With half of the municipal races in Mississippi County only having a single candidate listed, much of the focus during Tuesday's election will be on school boards.

Jack Feezor has no opposition in his bid for a three-year term on the Charleston city council.

Running unopposed to fill the one-year unexpired term as East Prairie's mayor is Gene Ditto.

Harold Lemons is running unopposed for a two-year term as alderman in Ward 2. In East Prairie's Ward 3, Robert "Bobby" D. McTigue and Todd Johnston are running for alderman.

Dan Lafferty, Bill Aycock, John Gifford and Teddie Sisk are all on the ballot to fill the three-year unexpired city marshal term in East Prairie.

East Prairie voters will also make a decision on a proposed half-cent sales tax for city parks.

Appearing on the ballot for a two-year term for Anniston's Ward 2 are LaDonna Reno and Robert Jones. Samuel Todd Smoot is the sole candidate appearing on the ballot for the two-year Ward 1 seat.

Stephen R. McConkey and Billy Joe Wilkerson are running for the two-year Ward 2 seat on Bertrand's board of aldermen. Eva Darlene Hurley is running unopposed in Ward 1 for a two-year term.

In Wilson City, Nichole Gant and Vickey Graham are running for the two-year trustee term. Dorothy Moore is unopposed for the one year remaining on an unexpired trustee term.

Candidates for Wyatt mayor are Donald Williams, Joey Cross and Riley E. Fitzgerald Sr.

Robert Harris is unopposed in Ward 1, and voters will decide between Robert Dugan Sr. and Dan Laster for Wyatt's Ward 2 alderman.

No candidates are listed for the two-year trustee position in the village of Pinhook.

For the Charleston R-1 School District's Board of Education, voters will select three from among the following candidates: Hubert DeLay Jr., Rosetta Bradley, Jimmy D. Browning, Tim Layton and Kay Johnson.

Seeking a one-year term on the board are Sonya M. Miles, Shelby Fox and G. Clay Shelby. The opening is an unexpired term created by a resignation.

In the East Prairie R-2 School District, John G. Thurman, Carlla A. Turnbo, Pat Helms, Bridgett S. Williams, Steve Jones and L.F. LaPlant Jr. are vying for the three open seats on the board. Terms run for three years.

The R-4 Kelly School District has Teresa DeWitt, Sonny Scheffer, Mike Riley, Doug Lynn and Wayne Rockett running for the three three-year seats on its Board of Education.

Mississippi County residents living in the Scott County R-IV Kelly School District will also be asked to approve a general obligation bond to expand the overcrowded school, this time for $3 million.