[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016

First mud drag race a hit at SEMO Raceway

Wednesday, September 17, 2003

Local Racing News

Here are the weekend race results from tracks around the area.


BLODGETT -- Over 200 race fans came out to SEMO Raceway Sunday afternoon to watch as SEMO hosted their first Mud Drag Races. Drivers of four wheel drive vehicles from all over came out to play in the 200 ft. mud drag.

Four different classes were offered Sunday, Stock trucks, Super Stock Trucks, Pro-Stock Trucks, ATV 4WD, and Modified.

Winner of the ATV Division was Zach Breitenstein from Patton, Mo beating out the ATV of Michael Mungle of Sedgewickville for the win.

Winner of the Pro-Stock Class was Jackie Merideth of Cypress, Ill., beating out all the other competitors in the double elimination race, with Roger Rudliff of McClure, Ill., finishing in second place, and Eric Enderle of Scott City finishing in the third spot.

In the Super Stock Division, Don Cato of Advance took home the win holding the truck of Brian Timberlake of Jackson to a second place finish and Keith Robinett of Cape Girardeau to a third place finish.

In the Stock Division, Terry Hitt of Advance took the victory in the double elimination, holding the truck of Cecil Hammontree of East Prairie to second spot, and Tim Taylor of East Prairie to a third place finish.

SEMO will host one more race on the new track this season Oct. 18-19 with the Sand Drags on Saturday, followed on Sunday with the Mud Drags.


BENTON -- America's Premier Outlaw Sprint Car Series the All Star Circuit of Champions is coming to the Auto Tire and Parts NAPA RacePark Sept. 27.

The Circuit of All-Stars travel throughout the United States entertaining Sprint Car Fans with some of the most exciting Sprint Car Racing the fan would want to see.

The series will bring some of the nations top Sprint Car drivers to the Benton facility which will include Dale Blaney, Kelly Kinser, Kenny Jacobs, Dean Jacobs, Jeff Shepard, and Brooke Tatnell just to name a few of the top drivers that will be on hand. Daron Clayton and Jerrod Hull both of Sikeston, Missouri will be on hand to do battle with the touring series. Both Clayton and Hull have been on the Regional and National Circuit this past summer racing with the NCRA, All Star Circuit of Champions, and the World of Outlaws.

Other area local drivers that are planning on racing with the Circuit of All Stars when they come to ATPR on Sept. 27 is Timmy Montgomery, Joey Montgomery, Tommy Worley Jr, Todd Rowland, Shawn King, and three time ATPR track champion Robbie Stanridge of Springfield, Illinois.

Auto Tire and Parts NAPA RacePark will also be hosting the U.S. Outlaw Mini Sprint National Championships with the first round on the evening of the 27th and the Championship round on the afternoon of the 28th of September. Drivers from throughout the United States and Canada will be on hand in an attempt to capture the National Championship. This is the second year in a row that the RacePark has hosted the National Mini Sprint Championships.

The UMP Modifieds will also compete on the afternoon of the 28th and the Pure Street Stock will be in action on the evening of the 27th as a support class for the All Stars. Advanced tickets for the All Star Circuit of Champions is now on sale at any of the 27 Auto Tire and Parts locations in the tri-state area or by calling (866) 545-9905.



The Malden Speedway dodged another threatening night of weather to provide some great action to mid South racing fans.

Carey Conaway used a daring last lap move to pick up his second Late Model feature win. Bart Richardson returned to Modified victory lane. Claudie Cook topped the Hobby Stocks. Johnny Houart extended his Pure Street points lead with his sixth win of the year. Austin and Ham continue their late season domination of the Cruiser class.

22 Late Models made the trip to Malden and put on one of the best shows of the year. Youngster Nathan Rettig grabbed the lead from the outside front row following a short duel with pole sitter Billy James. The race was red-flagged on the second lap following a harrowing accident on the front straight. As Kent Bailey and Kevin Poole came out of turn four, their wheels touched sending Bailey into a multiple rollover crash down the front straight. Bailey's car came to rest upside down directly in front of the flag stand. Fortunately, Bailey walked away from the accident.

Poole suffered a flat tire and came back to a 12th place finish. When the race resumed, Rettig led until Conaway's last lap run. Conaway grabbed second from the restart following a lap 18 caution. On the final lap, Conaway pulled even inside Rettig on the back straight.

Conaway shot through turn four to the lead and the victory. Rettig settled for a disappointing second place finish, just missing his first Late Model victory at Malden. Billy James took third. Jeremy Williams of Paducah took fourth in his first trip to the speedway. Brian Ritchie rounded out the top five. Heat winners were James, Rettig, and Ritchie. John Stephens won the B-Main feature.


BLODGETT -- All regular kart classes and the O'Reilly 100 NASCAR style kart race was canceled on Sept. 13 because of rain. All events have been rescheduled for Sept. 27, with gates opening at 1 p.m.


FREDERICKTOWN -- Following the rainout of the final night of points racing at the Fredericktown Raceway the 2003 track champions are now crowned.

In the Olympic Steak House Hobby Stock/Sportsmen class, Chris Boyd of Park Hills is the champion as he narrowly defeated Kevin Mosier for the title. Theran Pearl of Bismarck was a runaway winner in the Chuck's Short Stop Pure Street class.

It was Pearl's third consecutive track championship in that class. Joe Giesler of St. Mary was the winner of the Sonic Modified class with Tommy Worley Sr. taking a close second. Dave "The Wolf" Wofford of Farmington was the champion of the RAMS Mini Stock class and in the closest points race Kenny Rumble defeated Mike Hammerle by only seven points to earn the track championship.

The five track champions along with the other top placing racers in each class will be honored during the annual Fredericktown Raceway Awards Banquet on Saturday, Oct. 25th, at Club 67 Steakhouse & Sports Bar in Bonne Terre. Advance tickets are $12 and are available at the pit gate during race nights at the track.