[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

McDonald wins Super Pro at Sikeston Drag Strip; Leonard takes first in E.T.

Wednesday, June 4, 2003

Sikeston Drag Strip owner Ray Poirier congratulates Super Pro winner Dave McDonald on Saturday's win
(Submitted photo)
Here are the weekend's race results from tracks around the area.


Super Pro

Dave McDonald of Cape Girardeau won with a 6.21 on a 6.21 dial at 107 mph. His reaction time was .517. Ronnie Egner from Mayfield, Ky., was the runner up with a 5.72 on a 5.72 dial at 122 mph.

Pro Class

John Stearns of Carbondale, Ill., took honors with a 6.71 on a 6.70 dial at 101 mph. His reaction time was .525 of a second.

Darrell Ran took second place with a 6.23 on a 6.26 dial at 109 mph. His reaction time was a .507.

E.T. Class

Sikeston's David Leonard won with a 11.17 on a 11.15 dial. He ran 61 mph and his reaction time was a .543. Stanley Byrd took second with a 8.34 on a 8.41 dial. His reaction time was a .580 and he ran 80 mph.


MALDEN - A stellar 20 car Late Model field highlighted another exciting night of racing at the Malden Speedway. Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., took the honors in the Late Model Feature.

Bart Richardson returned to victory lane in Modifieds. In one of the best races of the season to date, Tony Anglin picked up his fourth straight Hobby Stock feature. Jared Wagster became the sixth winner in six weeks of racing in the Pure Street division. Jason and Chris Simpson won the Cruiser feature and vaulted into the season point's lead at the same time.

Jack Sullivan jumped out from the pole and led all 20 laps of the Late Model Feature. A trio of challengers battled Sullivan early, but as the race went on Sullivan became more dominant. Twice Sullivan built 2-second leads on the field. Jeff Floyd moved up from the third row to take second. Steve Rushin raced to third, with Johnny Waters and Gary Stolba rounding out the top five.

Sullivan, Billy James, and Jerry Buck won the heat races. Billy James has an 18 point lead over second place Todd Hall in the season standings.

Last week, Bart Richardson led all but the final 20 feet of the Modified feature before falling to second. This week, Richardson led 20 feet further. Richardson built a small early lead while Larry Hull and Claudie Cook battled back and forth for second. Cook took the position and by lap 15 had closed the gap to Richardson's bumper.

Cook would suffer mechanical failure two laps later and was eliminated from competition. Richardson jumped out on the lap 18 restart and was never challenged again.

Jack Sullivan just nipped Jared Wagster at the wire to take second. Wagster had moved up from the 15th starting position to earn his 3rd top five finish in four weeks of points racing. Larry Hull and Brad Buck rounded out the top five.

Hull, Richardson, and Cook won the heat races. Randy Martin took the checkered in the B Main. Wagster continues to lead Hull by 7 points for the season. Richardson is just 11 back, despite missing a race.

Tony Anglin picked up his fourth win in four weeks of points racing in the Hobby Stock feature. Anglin led from start to finish, but it was an exciting ride getting there.

Jared Wagster was hounding Anglin from lap three on, with Dicky Jackson lurking right behind if there were any mistakes made. Wagster pulled even of Anglin on lap 8 and raced side by side for a full lap before Anglin settled the position.

A lap 13 caution reset the field and Jackson got a good restart and came around Wagster out of turn two. The lead trio raced as a three wide tandem on lap 19 although there were no further changes of position. Jason Pennington topped a bunch of five cars to take fourth. Paul Betts took fifth.

Jackson and Anglin won the heat races. With his four week winning streak, Anglin has built a commanding 45 point lead over Pennington in the season standings.

Jared Wagster had a busy night, as he once again drove in three of the Speedway's five classes. Wagster won a tough battle with Aaron Darby to take the checkered flag in the Pure Street feature. The race was halted only once on the third lap to set the stages for a great race. Wagster grabbed the lead from the pole but was soon hounded by Darby. The pair went side by side for laps 6, 7, & 8 before Wagster pulled ahead coming out of turn four. Darby would look low coming out of turn two on the final lap, but Wagster was too strong this week. Danny Hampton ran a solid third. Johnny Houart and Jimmy Cornell rounded out the top five.

Heat winners were Steve Henley, Hampton, Wagster and Darby. Joe Strop won the B Feature. Greg Casey has a 23 point lead over Hampton for the season. Houart is one behind Hampton for third.

Chad & Jason Simpson dove under Gary Dunlap and Frankie Faulk coming out of turn four on the fifth lap to take the lead in the Cruiser feature. The Simpson's would pull away for their first feature win of the year. Dunlap and & Faulk battled back and forth with McChristian and Magouirk before taking second.

Heat winners were the Simpson's and the F50 of Dunlap and Faulk. With the win, the Simpson's take a 4 point lead in the season standings over McChristian and Magouirk.


FREDERICKTOWN -- All it took was just a "quarter-pound more air in our right front tire" to help propel Brent Kreke to his first feature win of the season at the Fredericktown Raceway Friday night.

"We always said that if anybody asked us what made the difference in our win we would tell them it was just the quarter-pound additional air pressure we added to the right front tire," laughed Brent Kreke after his win Friday night.

Kreke had originally planned on racing at Godfrey, Ill., but when rain cancelled the races there they headed for "The Rock."

"He just really likes racing down here," said Brent's father, Al Kreke. "He always seems to do good down here."

There were two big keys to Kreke's victory - first a good pill draw and secondly taking full advantage of the good draw and staying away from the middle of the pack and all the congestion.

Of the 16 UMP Late Models racing in the feature, none we slouches, so the battles in the middle of the pack were intense. Kreke was able to get out front and stay out of problems while the rest battled constantly for position. Kenny Rumble finished in second place while Mike Abney was third, Mike Hammerle was fourth and Brian Collins fifth. They were followed by Rodney Pense, Bryan Stephens, Brian Wolfmeier, Andy Pryor and Brad Long.

It was a triple crown night for Kreke as he also won his heat race and the dash. In the dash Kreke was first, Pryor was second and Ronnie Jarrells was third. Kreke won the first heat with Collins second and Rumble third. Jarrells won the second heat with Abney second and Pense third. Pryor won the third heat with Hammerle second and Ron McQuerry third.