[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Sikeston soccer players earn all-conference honors

Thursday, May 22, 2003

Paige Silverthorn
SIKESTON -- The 2003 All-SEMO Conference soccer team was released on Wednesday, and two Sikeston players were selected.

Freshman Paige Silverthorn was placed on the first team, while freshman teammate Allison Blurton made the second team.

"I think they're both really deserving, they've worked hard all year," said Sikeston coach Derrick Long. "We're a new team that's struggling to get wins right now, and it's good to know the other teams out there see how hard these two girls are playing. It's a big honor."

Silverthorn is a center-midfielder. She finished the season with five goals and six assists. Blurton is a forward, and had nine goals and two assists.

"I don't remember there being any freshmen on their last year," said Long. "Having two on there just shows we're moving in the right direction. I'm just glad we have them for three more years."

Allison Blurton
Other players on the first team include Jackson's Molly Hartmann, Cape Central's Heidi Pilsner, Notre Dame's Sierra Ellis, Poplar Bluff's Beth Forrester, Cape Central's Megan McDonald, Jackson's K.T. Biri, Notre Dame's Britney Little, Notre Dame's Lauren Mehner, Jackson's Courtney Urhahn, Poplar Bluff's Mary Newman, Jackson's Ashley Bartels, Cape Central's Julie Underwood, Notre Dame's Ali Tyson, Jackson's Erin Mayfield and Jackson's Whitney Werner.

Other players on the second team include Notre Dame's Katie Palmer, Notre Dame's Emily Buehrle, Jackson's Trina Lang, Cape Central's Jennifer Morris, Poplar Bluff's Megan Riggs, Notre Dame's Sara Berkbigler, Jackson's Luci Hartmann, Notre Dame's Kristen Boos, Cape Central's Allie McGinty, Jackson's Whitney Dietl, Poplar Bluff's Kristen Ploetze, Cape Central's Chelsey Oliver, Jackson's Elizabeth Neussbaum and Notre Dame's Amanda Dirnberger.