[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 93°F  
Feels like: 102°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Roundup: Shorthanded Sikeston track teams fare well

Monday, April 11, 2005

JACKSON -- Sikeston boys finished fifth and the girls seventh in the Jackson Invitational track and field meet on Saturday.

Complete team finishes in the 15-team boys field: 1. Poplar Bluff, 2. Cape Girardeau Notre Dame, 3. Cape Central, 4. Perryville, 5. Sikeston, 6. Jackson, 7. Fox, 8. Murphysboro (Ill.), 9. Fredericktown, 10. Cairo (Ill.), 11. Dexter, 12. Kelly, 13. Windsor, 14. De Soto, 15. Anna-Jonesboro (Ill.).

"We felt like we had a good meet, because we didn't take a full team," said Sikeston coach Jerry Dement. "Some of our better performers were taking the ACT (college entrance exam)."

Felante Larry was Sikeston's top individual point producer with firsts in the triple jump (personal record of 45'-3") and long jump (20-7). Larry also ran the leadoff leg of the winning 4 x 100 relay team, which included Tommy Strong, Brandon Williams and Brandon Washington.

The same quartet placed third in the 4 x 200 relay.

Other Bulldog boys placers were: 100 meters -- 8. Brian Branion; 400 meters -- 7. David Stovall, 8. Brandon Wright; 4 x 400 relay -- 4. Wright, Williams, Stovall and B.J. Green; pole vault -- 4. Trey Stone; discus -- 4. Taylor Old; triple jump -- 6. Williams.

On the girls side, Lafayette won the team title.

Complete team finishes in the 16-team girls field: 1. Lafayette, 2. Cape Central, 3. Jackson, 4. Notre Dame, 5. Hillsboro, 6. Dexter, 7. Sikeston, 8. Festus, 9. Poplar Bluff, 10. Fredericktown, 11. Murphysboro, 12. Perryville, 13. Windsor, 14, Kelly, 15. Fox, 16. De Soto.

Sikeston individual placers were: 100 -- 6. Jalonda Applewhite; 4 x 200 -- 5. Lashawna Turner, Martika Davis, Whitney Turner, Applewhite; 4 x 100 -- 4. Turner, Davis, Jewel Dixon, Applewhite; 4 x 400 -- 4. Traci Jackson, Deneka Black, Whitney Turner, Ashley Johnson; 800 -- 6. Jackson; 400 -- 6. Whitney Turner, 8. Johnson; 200 -- 7. Applewhite, 8. Jackie Nance; 300 hurdles -- 7. Nance.

"Our girls team is getting better and better," said Dement. "We're not where we want to be on either side, girls or boys, but we're improving every week. By the end of the season, we should be pretty good."

Sikeston hosts Jackson in a dual meet on Tuesday.

CAPE GIRARDEAU -- The Lady Bulldog soccer team fell 2-0 to the host squad at the Cape Central Soccer Tournament on Saturday.

Sikeston, 1-1 in the tournament, meets Notre Dame, previously a 1-0 double-overtime winner over the Bulldogs, for third place on Tuesday. Cape Central and St. Vincent vie for the championship.

Central's Kate Miller put the Tigers up 1-0 on a goal with about one minute to go in the first half.

Heather Deisher assisted on the first goal, then scored the second off an assist from Miller at the 52-minute mark.

Central had 24 shots on goal to 11 for the Bulldogs, whose overall record evened at 3-3.

Sikeston goalie Audra Wooley recorded 22 saves.

POPLAR BLUFF, Mo. -- Avis White of Scott County Central hit a shot at the buzzer to lift the Black squad to a 70-69 victory over the Red squad in the boys small school all-star game Saturday at the B.A. Sports Extravaganza at Three Rivers Community College.

The Black team was coached by Joe Shoemaker of Advance and Dustin Hicks of Van Buren, while David Heeb of Bell City and Chris Moore of South Pemiscot coached the Red team.

Tyler Triplett of Bunker was named the game's MVP.

In the boys large school contest, the Maroon team, coached by Darrin Scott of Jackson and Jim Bidewell of Portageville, was victorious. John David Patillo of Poplar Bluff and Cory Johnson of Kelly coached the losing squad.

Poplar Bluff's Brad Chronister was selected the game's MVP.

In the girls' game, the Blue squad, coached by Rod McQuerter of Kelly and Kirk Chronister of Poplar Bluff, defeated the Lime squad, coached by Gavin Miller of Dexter and Jimbo Blackwell of Doniphan.

Poplar Bluff's Tierra Johnson was chosen the game's MVP.

In the individual competitions, Brent Menz of Delta won the boys 3-point shootout, defeating Mark Dannenmueller of Scott City by a 9-6 count in the final.

Kelly Essner of Kelly won the girls' 3-point shootout. Essner totaled six points in the final, while Rachel Blunt of Dexter and Janet Penrod of Scott County Central each totaled five.

Kyle Hubbard of Caruthersville beat Brad Chronister in the finals of the slam dunk competition.

At Friday's awards banquet, Tyler Hansbrough of Poplar Bluff and Rachel Blunt of Dexter were named the boys and girls MVPs, respectively, for Southeast Missouri. Tyler Hansbrough was also the recipient of the Most Clutch Player award.

Recipients of the Lennies McFerren Award, which goes to the top coaches, were Paul Hale of Notre Dame (boys) and Gavin Miller of Dexter (girls). The Best Team awards went to Poplar Bluff's boys and girls.

Underclassmen of the Year were Ben Hansbrough of Poplar Bluff (boys) and Hailee Deckard of Doniphan (girls).

Poplar Bluff's boys also received the Most Memorable Moment award for their victory over unbeaten Vashon -- ranked No. 1 nationally at the time -- in the Class 5 state championship game.

WENTZVILLE -- The Sikeston Big Dogs, a club wrestling team, competed in the Wentzville-Holt Freestyle Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.

The Big Dogs swept the top three places in the eight-man heavyweight division with Joe Johnson (5-0) placing first, Robert Madison (4-1) second and Josh Northern (3-2) third.

Johnson, a Sikeston High School senior and two-time state medalist, has agreed to sign with Missouri Baptist College in St. Louis, a top-10 NAIA program in 2005.

Three Sikeston freshmen Gavilan Bland, third in the 145-pound class, Craig Burton, fourth in the 130-pound class, and Harvey Pegues, fourth in the 171-

pound division, also placed

Chris Northern (3-2) was fourth in the 189-pound class.

The Big Dogs travel to Missouri Valley College in Marshall for the Southern Plains USA Wrestling regional qualifier next weekend.