[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Two Boy Scout leaders next to be added to Honors Board

Sunday, March 20, 2005

SIKESTON -- Two devoted Boy Scout leaders will be added to the Sikeston Park Board's Honors Board.

The late Roy Nall, who was leader of Sikeston's Boy Scout Troop 43 for 25 years, and Lynn Hasty, scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 59 in Sikeston, will be the 31st and 32nd additions to the Honors Board.

Since 1986, the Honors Board has recognized outstanding volunteers who made significant contributions to youth programs in the community including sports and Scouting.

Nall was a Boy Scout as a youth and at age 18 became a junior assistant scoutmaster, beginning 33 years as a Boy Scout leader. In 1954, the 26-year-

old Nall became assistant scoutmaster of Troop 43, sponsored by the Sikeston Lions Club. In 1957, he became the Troop's scoutmaster, a position he would hold for the next 22 years.

In recognition of his dedication and contributions to Scouting, Nall was awarded the Silver Beaver Award, the Boy Scouts' highest award for adult volunteers, and the Award of Merit.

Paul Vaught's sons were Scouts in Nall's Troop 43. In nominating Nall for the Honors Board, Vaught wrote: "Roy was dedicated to Scouting. He believed in the B.S.A. and worked hard at the job. He was highly respected by the parents and the boys. Roy was always in charge and the boys knew it. He could be strict when he needed to, or gentle when he should. ... I feel like he has earned a place on the Honors Board."

Hasty's involvement with Scouting began when his son Michael joined Morehouse Elementary's Cub Scout Pack 49, for which Hasty became Cubmaster. He began his association with the Boy Scouts as a volunteer helper to Roy Watkins and Troop 59 even before his son was old enough to join the troop.

Eventually Hasty became assistant scoutmaster and then scoutmaster, a position he still holds today. Like Nall, Hasty's dedication and commitment to Scouting and the boys of Troop 59 earned him the Silver Beaver Award from the Greater St. Louis Area Boy Scout Council as well as the Cherokee District's Award of Merit.

Bill Bye nominated Hasty for the Honors Board, noting on the nomination form: "Lynn teaches them by his actions of service without regard of recognition or what is in it for him. Lynn exemplifies all that Scouting should be as a leader."

The Honors Board ceremony is scheduled for 10 a.m. May 18. The Honors Board is located in the Recreation Complex near the Ingram Road entrance to the park.