[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 96°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

E.P. locks up consolation championship at Bloomfield

Friday, December 31, 2004

BLOOMFIELD - Puxico fell behind early and never recovered as the East Prairie Eagles rolled to an easy win the consolation bracket championship game.

Two 3-pointers in the first quarter jump started the Eagles who glided to a 22-13 first quarter lead and extended it to 50-23 at the break.

Puxico never got on track offensively and East Prairie put on a passing clinic as they worked the ball around for easy baskets inside.

Ben Walters led the Eagles with 21 points, followed by Preston Shoemaker with 14.

Puxico was paced by the spunky play of sophomore Dylon Adams who was still diving for loss balls as the buzzer sounded to end the disappointing loss for the Indians.

Puxico two big men, Tyler Ramsey (3 points) and Jonathan Helm (8 points) never were able to make their presence in the game a factor.

Number three seed Twin Rivers came out flat against Doniphan and the youthful Dons took full advantage of it to take third place with a 59-42 win.

Michael Lance had a game-high 25 points for Twin Rivers in the loss.

Malden continued to be the surprise team of the tournament to the very end as the Green Wave posted an easy win over the higher seeded Kennett Indians on championship Thursday.

Malden narrowly missed the upset of the tournament when they took the top-seed Dexter to the limit before falling 58-54 in the second round. After the loss to Dexter, the Green Wave easily dispatched fourth seed South Pemiscot to earn a shot at fifth place honors in the 16-team field.

Sophomore Alonzo Louis again led Malden with his ball handling skills on the court and against Kennett he also led in the scoring column with 14 points. Teammate Ryan Criglar was the only other Green Wave in double figures with 10.

Kennett struggled from the field offensively and in part to Malden's tenacious defense as the Green Wave built a 28-14 lead at half-time.

Only Alando Edwards was able penetrate Malden's defense with any consistency as he knocked down a game-high 20 points.

As usual, Dexter was well represented, sending three players from this year's championship squad.

They were followed by Doniphan and Portageville who had two players apiece.

Dexter's two seniors chosen were Scott Admire and Chris Guethle. Junior Eric Rinehart rounded out the Bearcats' selections.

Portageville's Willie Hassell and Jordan Penn, both seniors, made the list as well.

Doniphan sent Charles Wilson, the only freshman selected to the All-Tournament. His teammate, senior Matt Rogers was also selected.

South Pemiscot's Anthony Jones' selection to team after it's early exit from the tournament let the Bulldogs end the week on a high note.

Other selections rounding out the squad for the tournament were Malden sophomore Alonzo Louis, Twin Rivers junior Michael Lance, Kennett senior Danny Ragsdale, and East Prairie senior Jordan Sanders.