[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Vote split on sales tax issue

Wednesday, April 3, 2002

CHARLESTON - Mississippi County residents waited anxiously in the courthouse Tuesday night in anticipation of what the election results would bring.

But what they ended up seeing was that ties seemed to be the going thing.

When the totals were calculated for the East Prairie City Sales Tax, Proposition One, the final count was 431 yes, 431 no votes.

The same occurred when it came to voting on the Scott County R-4 bond question. There were four votes in favor of it and four against it. However, when tallied with the Scott County portion of the Kelly District, the issue failed to garner the four-sevenths majority required for passage.

In other election results, school board races included that of the Charleston R-1 School District's Board of Education whose newly elected members include Hubert DeLay Jr. with 508 votes, Rosetta Bradley with 501 votes and Jimmy D. Browning with 450 votes. Tim Layton received 351 votes and Kay Johnson received 374.

G. Clay Shelby's 382 votes won him the position of director for the Charleston R-1 School District's Board of Education, with Shelby Fox having 321 votes and Sonya M. Miles with 162.

In the East Prairie R-2 School District, the winners are Steve Jones, 794; John G. Thurman, 670; and Pat Helms, 600. Bridgett S. Williams had 287 votes and 481 votes went to L.F. LaPlant Jr.

Each having five votes in Mississippi County for the R-4 Kelly School District were Teresa DeWitt, Mike Riley and Doug Lynn. Sonny Scheffer and Wayne Rockett each received three votes.

Samuel Todd Smoot, who ran unopposed, is the Anniston City Alderman for Ward I, with 19 votes. Anniston City Alderman for Ward 2 is LaDonna Reno, with 19 votes. Robert Jones received 12 votes.

Running unopposed for Bertrand City Alderman for Ward 1 was Eva Darlene who received 23 votes.

Alderman for Ward 2 in Bertrand City is Stephen R. McConkey, who had 37 votes. His opponent Billy Joe Wilkerson had 31 votes.

Jack Feezor is the Charleston City Councilman, with 389 votes.

Elected to fill the one-year unexpired position of East Prairie city mayor is Gene Ditto, who ran unopposed with 751 votes.

East Prairie voters chose Danny Lafferty to fill the three-year unexpired city marshal term, with 526 votes. Bill Aycock had 149 votes, John Gifford had 80 and Teddie Sisk had 142.

With 148 votes behind him, Billy R. Hatton Jr. was elected as East Prairie City Alderman of Ward 1. Running against him was James W. "Woody" Parson with 112 votes.

Running unopposed for East Prairie City Alderman of Ward 2 was Harold Lemons, with 223 votes.

East Prairie city alderman of Ward 3 is Robert "Bobby" D. McTigue with 181 votes. Todd Johnston received 126.

Filling the two, two-year positions of trustees for Wilson City are Vickey Graham, 21 votes, and Nichole Gant, 16 votes. Wilson City village trustee for an unexpired one-year term is Dorothy Moore who received 23 votes.

Wyatt's mayor is Donald Williams with 50 votes. Joey Cross had 18 votes and Riley E. Fitzgerald Sr. with 40 votes. Wyatt alderman of Ward 1 is Robert Harris with 34 votes.

Robert Dungan Sr., having received 54 votes, was elected as alderman of Wyatt Ward 2. He ran against Dan Laster who received 14 votes.

Election results for the two-year trustee position in the village of Pinhook were unavailable at press time.