[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016

Turnout average in Scott County

Wednesday, April 3, 2002

BENTON - Returns, showing 20 percent of registered voters in Scott County turned out for Tuesday's municipal and school board elections, were "about average" according to Rita Milam, county clerk, with anywhere between 20 to 25 percent being normal for an April election.

The following unofficial tallies for Scott County were reported by the county clerk's office:

Geri L. Hennemann, the sole candidate for Benton's Ward 1, received 67 votes and Jim Arteme, who was unopposed in Ward 2, received 79. The terms run for two years.

In Blodgett, Kenny Plunk and Richard Riley, running for the two open board of trustee seats, received 37 and 43 votes respectively. The terms are for two years.

Chaffee voters picked Doug Dirnberger 48-13 over Darryl Strohmeyer in Ward 1. Jack Nordin won in Ward 4 over Gene Cummins 71 to 59. Running unopposed in Ward 2, Robert (Bob) Sullivan had 25 votes. Also unopposed, Mitchell Dooley was elected in Ward 3 with 26 votes. An unexpired term with one year remaining in Ward 3 had no candidates listed on the ballot.

In Commerce, voters selected Buddy Vetter with 25 votes and Terri Williams with 23 for two of the three two-year terms on the board of trustees. There was a tie for the third slot between Delores Lee and Alan Wright who each received 20 votes. Also running was Bobby Ledure with 16.

Terry Sue Pemberton, Terra Slayden and Jerry L. Canter were picked for the three board of trustee openings in Diehlstadt with 30, 26 and 25 votes respectively. Mark Pemberton received 18 votes.

Haywood City had no candidates listed for their two board of trustee openings.

Kelso's two candidates for two two-year board of trustee terms, Larry McClain and Chuck Miller, each received 108 votes.

Voters in Kelso approved a four-year increase in their general property tax levy of 13 cents per $100 assessed value beginning in 2002 for fire protection with 112 voting for the tax and only four voting against it.

In the four-way race for the mayor's seat in Morley, the voters picked Hallie Granville with 93 votes, 42 percent of the total votes cast. Jim O'Neal placed second with 57 votes followed by Wilma N. Smith with 48 and Jamie "Rooster" Abernathy with 22.

Running unopposed for the one-year unexpired term in Morley's Ward 1, Jay C. May received 100 votes. For Ward 1's full two-year term, voters selected Tony Lackey over Summer Bridges, 77 to 46. Also running unopposed, Ronnie Cookson received 70 votes in Ward 2 for a full term.

Tom Urhahn will be Oran's next mayor, beating out Herman Joe Ressel 209 to 122. Marcia Roslen, unopposed for city collector, received 289 votes and Ronald L. Diebold, who ran without opposition for alderman in Oran's Ward 1, got 32. The Ward 2 seat went to Bob Ressel who got 68 votes to A.J. Madigan's 56. In Ward 3, Jean Neal narrowly won over Brenda Cook 48 to 42. Ward 4 had no candidate appearing on the ballot.

In Scott City, each of the council seats had only a single candidate running for the two-year terms. Ronald O. Cummins received 30 votes in Ward 1, Terry Getting got 23 in Ward 2, Joe McDaniel had 36 in Ward 3 and Kevin T. Gresham received 29 votes in Ward 4.

Vanduser voters picked Gary Owens and Myra Lancaster for two-year terms on their board of trustees with 30 and 25 votes respectively. Dale Keith received 15 votes.

Voters in the Southern Scott County Ambulance District selected Tom Marshall for a three-year term as director with 199 votes to Shirley Tetley's 117.

The three-year director term for the Illmo Special Road District went to Bill Zimmerman with 127 votes. Joe Schram received 53.

In the closely-watched R-6 Sikeston School District Board of Education race, Scott County voters picked Rick Adams with 1,486 votes; Greg Colwick with 1,262; and Billy D. Priday with 1,139 votes for the three-years terms. Randy Bohannon received 1,047 votes, Mary L. White-Ross had 1,023 and Julia Crader Dolan got 943.

In the other Scott County school districts, Wayne Petitt, Sally Porch and William Wilthong were listed for the three full three-year terms on the Scott City R-1 District Board of Education, receiving 143, 144 and 137 votes respectively.

Scott T. Horman, Steve Seyer and William G. McFerron, candidates for the three Chaffee R-2 school district seats, received 202, 208 and 203 votes.

In the Oran R-3 school district, selected for three-year terms on the school board were Mark Eftink with 285 votes, Jerry Lange with 273 and Larry Hatfield with 247 votes. Also running were Gil Roslen with 181 votes, Ronnie Diebold with 169 and Sherry Seyer with 140.

Three-year seats on the R-4 Kelly School District board went to Mike Riley with 571 votes, Teresa Dewitt with 550 and Sonny Scheffer with 476. Doug Lynn received 429 votes and Wayne Rockett got 349.

Voters in the Kelly School District also again rejected a general obligation bond to expand the overcrowded school, voting the measure down 493 yes 409 no in Scott County. The issue fell 23 votes short because a supermajority of four-sevenths was needed to pass the $3 million bond issue.

The Scott County Central School District Board of Education seats will be filled by Mark Freed who received 259 votes, Michael T. Blissett Sr. who got 186 votes, and Richard (Dick) Griffin who had 169. Terms run for three years. Also running were Kim Kesler, 134 votes; Patty Burton, 121; Marvin Walton, 93; and Michelle Fodge, 63 votes.

In the Kelso Consolidated School District 7, there were only three candidates running for the three open board of education seats. Sherri Grojean received 153 votes, Dorothy Deason was one vote behind at 152 and Fred Higdon received 148.