[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Sikeston slammed in sectional

Monday, May 23, 2005

State-bound Marc Leible
DEXTER -- Clayton overwhelmed Sikeston 6-0 in a Class 1, District 2 tennis sectional at Dexter on Saturday.

Clayton advances to the quarterfinal round against John Burroughs, which drubbed host Dexter in the other half of the sectional by an identical 6-0 score.

"Clayton is one of the top teams in the state," said Sikeston coach Brian James. "Their No. 1 player (Josh Goldstein) is the returning state champion and they're good from Nos. 1-6. It was good for our younger guys to see this level of play."

Goldstein handled Sikeston's No. 1 Marc Leible with ease, 6-0, 6-1.

Said James, "Goldstein is just outstanding. I'm sure he's considered the favorite to win it all again. These guys play year round and have done so for several years. It's just a different level of play than what we are used to seeing."

Leible has already qualified, the lone Sikeston representative by virtue of his district championship, for the state tournament at the Cooper Tennis Complex in Springfield on Thursday.

"Marc, after seeing the best the state has to offer, shouldn't be too fazed when he meets his first-round opponent at state," said James.

Added James, "The District 2 typically has the state champions come out of it. Last year, the doubles champion, the doubles runner-up, the singles champion and the singles runner-up all came from District 2. So, the level of competition that comes from that district is unbelievable."

Of the Bulldogs' top six players, only Leible will graduate, so James looks for improvement on an 8-8 season.

"I think we had a pretty decent year," he said. "I played lots of young kids that are only going to get better. Several of these guys like to play and I expect that they will be more improved next year. Seeing this kind of competition lets them know how hard they have to work to get to a high level of play.

"Hopefully, we can improve individually and come back with a strong team for next year."

Complete individual results

1. Marc Leible (S) lost to Josh Goldstein, 6-0, 6-1.

2. Chris Matthews (S) lost to Shapiro, 6-1, 6-1.

3. Logan Hampton (S) lost to Pang, 6-1, 6-1.

4. Andrew Powell (S) lost to Greenberg, 6-0, 6-0.

5. Charlie Jones (S) lost to McClellan, 6-0, 6-0.

6. Clayton Matthews (S) lost to Goldsticker, 6-2, 5-7, (10-4) super tie breaker.