[Nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 68°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

Mississippi County: Races are few in election

Sunday, April 4, 2004

CHARLESTON - Several candidates will run unopposed in Mississippi County at the April 6 election.

Charleston voters will pick two of the three following candidates listed for three-year terms on the City Council: David Manker, Sandy Harvey and Jackie Whiteside.

East Prairie has three people running without opposition in its three wards: Billy Hatton in Ward 1, Harold Lemons in Ward 2 and Karen Coffer in Ward 3. Terms are two years each.

In Bertrand, both wards have unopposed candidates as well: Willard Lee "Doc" Baker in Ward 1 and Stephen R. McConkey in Ward 2.

Sam Bowles is the sole candidate in Wyatt's Ward 1 and Robert J. Dugan Sr. is the only candidate in Ward 2. Wyatt will have three candidates to choose from for their mayor with Donald Williams, Lester W. Grisso Jr. and Joey Cross all listed on the ballot for the two-year term.

Eddie Mae Washington is unopposed in a bid to fill an unexpired term on the Wilson City Board of Trustees. One year remains in the term. There is a two-way race for mayor of Wilson City. Nichole Gant and Vickey Graham will appear on the ballot for the two-year term.

Anniston has no listed candidates running for the two-year Ward 1 alderman seat, but two candidates running in Ward 2: Ladonna Reno and Robert Jones.

Pinhook has one two-year seat open on its Board of Trustees and three people running: Mary L. Williams, Debra Tarver and Sedrick Johnson.

There are four candidates for the two open director positions on the School District No. 1 of Mississippi County (Charleston) Board of Education: Carol Jane Burke, Larry R. Smith, Mike Ellis and John R. Bledsoe. The terms are three years long.

East Prairie Schools do not have to hold an election because there are only two candidates running for the two positions, under the new rules passed in the election reform legislation last year.

Tony Powell, Wayne Rockett, Lisa Howell and Janet Lee Kline are the candidates competing for the two Scott and Mississippi County R-4 (Kelly) Board of Education director seats. The terms run for three years.

Running for the District 6 director seat on the county ambulance district's board are John Joe Bryant and Randy Johnson. The term runs for two years.