[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Council school board members elected

Wednesday, April 7, 2004

BENTON -- With a low turnout of 3,510 voters, Scott County residents proved every vote counts as races were determined by only a handful of votes in some cases.

In Scott County, Sikeston city council races were tight as William Stokes defeated incumbent Sue Rogers 867 votes to 761 votes for the position of councilman at large. Jerry D. Pullen was re-elected as Ward 1 councilman with 416 votes over opponent Rich Wrather's 343 votes. Michael Harris, the sole council candidate for Ward 4, received 239 votes.

Voters in the Sikeston R-6 School District in Sikeston chose Mary White-Ross, 1,062 votes, and Paul H. Boyd, 999 votes, to fill the two open seats on the Board of Education. Jera Lincoln followed closely with 996 votes, and Angela Longstreet had 507 votes. The terms are for three years.

Larry Tetley narrowly defeated Norris Edwards in the race for the Sikeston Special Road District Commissioner. Tetley garnered 825 votes followed by Edwards' 806 votes and Jackie James' 310 votes.

Mitchell Thompson will replace Frank Tatum as mayor of Miner winning the race with 168 votes to 130 votes.

Donna Thomas, 95 votes, defeated Heather Alexander, 69 votes, for the Ward 1 alderman position in Miner; and Peggy Holman won Ward 2 alderman with 80 votes over Betty Barnes' 52 votes.

A $1.9 million bond proposal to build, equip and furnish a new gymnasium and additional classrooms, restrooms and storage space to develop a separate junior high school wing was approved by voters in the Scott County Central School District with 236 votes in favor of the proposition and 128 votes against it.

Steve Johnson and Linda Williams edged out their opponents in the Scott County Central Board of Education race. Johnson received 211 votes and Williams nabbed 188 votes, while Michelle Nunn Fodge garnered 110 votes and Tanya Johnson Monroe had 107 votes.

Two Board of Education positions, which are three-year terms, for the Scott County R-4 (Kelly) District will be filled by Janet Lee Kline, 171 votes, and Tony Powell, 118 votes. Following closely in the school board race were Wayne Rockett with 116 votes and Lisa Howell with 81 votes.

Running unopposed in Benton for two-year terms were: Geri Lynn Hennemann for Ward 1 alderman with 22 votes and Jim Arteme for Ward 2 alderman with 30 votes.

Kenny Plunk, 18 votes, and Richard Riley, 17 votes, were re-elected to the two Blodgett Board of Trustees positions.

In Oran, Thomas L. Seyer, 209 votes, and Wilfred "Bill" Bucher, 144 votes, each earned spots on the R-3 School Board defeating Rosalia Friga, 97 votes, and Eric Urhahn, 121 votes. Ward 1 voters chose Harold J. Landewee over Ronald L. Diebold Sr., 16 votes to 11 votes; and in the Ward 2 contest, Ronald L. Diebold Jr. defeated Bob Ressel, 62 votes to 22 votes. Those running without opposition in Oran were: Tom Urhahn, city mayor, 131 votes; Marcia Roslen, city collector, 157 votes; Jimmy Westrich, Ward 3 alderman, 37 votes; Gaylon Bryeans II, Ward 4 alderman, 24 votes.

Bobby Ledure, 15 votes; Alan Wright, 13 votes; and Terri Williams, 16 votes, will fill the three openings on the Commerce Board of Trustees.

Hallie Granville ran unopposed for the mayor of Morley and garnered 105 votes. Also running without opposition were Tony Lackey for Ward 1 alderman with 65 votes and Sheila L. Scherer for Ward 2 alderman with 51 votes.

Diehlstadt voters elected only one of the three Board of Trustee positions. Glenn Perry received eight votes, and there were no write-ins for the other two spots.

Jerry L. Thompson and Dale Keith will fill the two spots on Vanduser's Board of Trustees. Each received 22 votes. Chaffee voters picked Lum Stricklin over Bruce Skinner as their Ward 1 representative with 32 votes to 19 votes.

Elected without opposition in Chaffee were Bob Sullivan, Ward 2 alderman, 31 votes; David "Mike" Jobe, Ward 3 alderman, 34 votes; and Jesse Jack Nordin, Ward 4 alderman, 36 votes. Donnie Kiefer and Ronald Eifert Jr. won the two positions on the R-2 Board of Education with 178 votes and 122 votes over Stan Shields who received 107 votes.

Chuck Miller and Larry McClain were chosen for the two Board of Trustees positions in Kelso with 26 votes and 24 votes.

Voters chose Debbi Miller, 115 votes, and Lisa G. Schaefer, 99 votes, over Roger R. Buckner, 90 votes, and James Yetman, 41 votes, to fill the two Scott City R-1 board of Education seats. Running unopposed in Scott City were: Tim Porch, for four years as mayor, 141 votes; Bill Schwartz for Ward 1 alderman, 53 votes; Larry G. Taylor for the Ward 2 seat, 28 votes; Joe McDaniel in Ward 3, 30 votes; and Darren V. Raines in Ward 4 with 25 votes.

Haywood City had no candidates listed for its two Board of Trustee openings, and there were no write-ins.

Craig Hahs was the voters' unanimous choice for Southern Scott County Ambulance sub-district 2 director. He defeated Barbara P. Hill, 334 votes to 73 votes.

These results, which are unofficial, were provided by Scott County Clerk Rita Milam's office.