[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Looking Back 5/10

Tuesday, May 10, 2005

60 years ago

SIKESTON - Billy Hunter was awarded a bronze palm to his Eagle award at the Court of Honor, which ended the Sikeston District Boy Scout Camporee at Benton Saturday.

40 years ago

SIKESTON - A recognition dinner will be held at the Senior High Cafetorium tomorrow night at 6:30 p.m. There will be 83 students, the top 10 percent in each class, who will be honored with a certificate for their achievement. The principal speaker for the association will be Dr. Bob Woods, professor of education at the University of Missouri. Music will be furnished by the school orchestra.

20 years ago

JEFFERSON CITY - A measure which would revise the law allowing the state to use administrative procedures to suspend the driving privileges of people who drive drunk was given preliminary approval Wednesday by the Missouri Senate. Although the action would severely weaken the state's efforts to get drunk drivers off the road, the senators by a voice vote endorsed the bill. It still must come up for final approval.

10 years ago

CHARLESTON - Pete Bone and seven other residents from the Plainview Addition attended City Council Tuesday night voicing dissatisfaction basically with the condition of their water drainage in the subdivision at the north city limits. Councilmen agreed they were aware of the problem at Plainview and expressed hope the current water improvement projects would alleviate the problem. John Chittenden, engineer for the project, which includes a new water tower, will be asked to review the situation.

SIKESTON - The Southeast Elementary student spotlight honored students in the first grade for the school year include: Kayla William, Cory Witzel, Stephanie Kitchen, Khassie Patterson, Ashley Howell, Leigh Ann Buchheit, Ronnie Davidson, Ashley Brown, Sara Lindsey, Gregory Bain, Halley Kneezle, Breonna McCormick, Zackery Blackman, Tyanna Wiggins, Jenny Stewart, Pasha Blagg, Brittany Bishop, Amy Baker, Delrease Barnhill, Doug Wilkerson, Sarah Bedwell, Laura Towe, Tyler Wallace, Staci Boswell and Heather Wrather.