[Nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

All but one race in New Madrid County will be decided in Tuesday's primary

Thursday, July 29, 2004

NEW MADRID - Those New Madrid County residents picking up a Democratic ballot in the Aug. 3 election will decide who will be in office next January in all but one countywide race. The only local candidate on the Republican ticket is for the office of public administrator while no one filed locally as a Libertarian.

But there is plenty to vote on statewide on all of the ballots. Also New Madrid County residents will pick their district representatives and cast votes on two statewide amendments.

On the Democratic ballot in the first district county commissioner's race the candidates are: Darren Brown of Sikeston; Mark Baker, incumbent Barry Bennett, Dub Prince and Gary Fowler of New Madrid; and Willard Fincher of rural Sikeston.

Four persons are seeking the second district commissioner's seat, now held by Sam Pikey of Conran, who filed for re-election. Also on the Democratic ballot are Don Day and Dennis Moody of Portageville and Tim Dambach of Lilbourn.

The current sheriff, a former sheriff and a local police chief are seeking election as New Madrid County sheriff on the Democratic ticket. Along with incumbent Terry M. Stevens of rural Portageville, former sheriff Jake C. Rone of Portageville and Portageville Police Chief Ronnie Adams are candidates.

The office of public administrator has drawn interest from a number of individuals. In addition to Nancy Goodman Pardon of Portageville who has filed for re-election, the candidates on the Democratic ticket are Joe Beaher of New Madrid, Dianne Ellen Ivy of rural New Madrid and Terri Adams of Matthews.

The winner on the Democratic ticket will face Gary Henson of New Madrid in the November general election. Henson is running unopposed on the Republican ticket.

The coroner's office is sought by incumbent Timothy G. Clayton of Matthews and Jimmy McSpadden of New Madrid.

Running without opposition are incumbents, Ronald Alan Simmons of Portageville, county assessor; Clement Cravens of New Madrid for a two-year unexpired term as county clerk; Thomas B. Bradley of rural Sikeston, county treasurer; and Charles W. Ice of New Madrid, surveyor. All are listed on the Democratic ballot.

The Portageville School District has put forth two proposals for its patrons to decide in August.

Proposition 1 would authorize the board to increase the operating levy by 50 cents per $100 assessed valuation for five years. The money would be used for general operations including the maintenance and repair of buildings, pay for staff and provide educational materials and supplies.

The second proposition would authorize the school district to eliminate the reduction in the operating levy currently required by state law.