[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 69°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

Your view: Developer hired

Wednesday, April 27, 2005

It is our pleasure to announce the creation of the Office of County Developer. The County Developer will perform the functions of economic development as well as grant research and writing and maintenance of the county Website (www.scottcountymo.com). The County Developer will provide support to all of the county's agencies as needed. Our goal in creating this position is to provide support to the various agencies, organizations, and municipalities of the county. This county-level position will give these entities opportunities not previously available due to time and funding constraints. The synergistic benefits of combining various needs into multiple agency or county-wide projects can improve the success rate of grant applications as well as improving the efficiency of the application and management process. Completion and updating of the county Website will develop the site into a useful tool for marketing the benefits of the county and will provide residents access to needed information.

Filling the role of county developer is Scott County native, Joel Evans. Joel studied marketing as an undergraduate at Southeast Missouri State University and Educational Administration in the university's masters program. He also completed master's work in International Economics at the University of Applied Sciences at Schmalkalden, Germany. Joel's employment history includes work in middle management with National Merchants Management Corporation overseeing operations in their south-central district and for the past eight years has taught business and computing at Scott County R-IV School District. As a life-long resident of Scott County, Joel has a vested interest in the success of the county and is dedicated to improving the standard of living and quality of life of all of Scott Counties residents. Requests for support from the Office of County Development will be coordinated through the County Commissioners.

Martin Priggel

Presiding Commissioner

Dennis Ziegenhorn

First District Commissioner

Jamie Burger

Second District Commissioner