[Nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Hull conquers Winged Sprints

Wednesday, September 26, 2001

BENTON - Jerrod Hull of Sikeston conquered the Winged Sprint battle besting Steve Short and Lowe Cannel for the win.

Fellow Sikeston racer John Barnett was untouchable as he took the top honors in the Open-Wheel Modified division, the win snapped Chris Hall two race win streak in the division. The Pure Street feature enjoyed a familiar face in victory lane as crowd favorite Billy Hopkins of Caruthersville scored his season leading fifth win. In the cruiser car division Jason Pennington and Scott James took the feature win.

Season points champions were also crowned on the night as "Consistent" Cline Myers Jr. won the Pure Street points championship. Joe Geisler wrapped up a stellar performance on the year picking up the championship crown in the Open-Wheel Modified division. The Winged Sprint car points championship was earned by Robbie Standridge of Springfield, Ill., driving for car-owner Joe Reddick out of Jackson, Mo.

Garrett Moll and Wesley Short were crowned the King of the Cruisers enjoying the honor in the inaugural run of the cruiser cars at the racepark. Steve Short held the pole position in the main event for the Winged Sprinters, starting outside of him was Jerrod Hull. When the drivers can around for the green flag to start the race Hull quickly disposed of the pole sitter.

Hull jumped out to a healthy advantage but by lap eight the sixth the distance started to shrink as Short and the third place car of Lee Dunn closed in. Lowe Cannell, Shawn King and Alex Shanks were battling behind the front three for the next three positions.

Maneuvering through the lap traffic with skill and precision Dunn moved around Short for second and began to close on the leader. For the next eight laps Dunn would take over the lead on occasion only to have Hull move back around. Dunn never took the advantage at the stripe.

Coming out of turn 3-4 the 66 car of Lee Dunn spun. Simultaneously, the front stretch became a disaster area when Steve Zelch Jr. made contact with another car, sending him into a series of flips. The 21-year-old St. Louis driver walked away uninjured but shaken. However, the result was a red flag and re-start.

Dunn's spin resulted in him re-starting at the back of the pack, thus eliminating his chances to re-take the lead. Short would finish the night in a strong second place run, Lowe Cannell enjoyed a successful night finishing third while Shawn King and Daron Clayton rounded out the top-five.

John Barnett made it a two-for-two for Sikeston residents as he took the top-honors in the Open-Wheel Modified main event. Barnett jumped out front at the drop of the green flag, Danny Sissom, Terry Johnson and Jeff Hall Jr. fell in behind the leader. Barnett dominated the race for the next 20-laps taking the main event in record time, going 20 circuits nonstop.

Sissom, Chris Hall, Joe Geisler and Johnson waged a war for the next four positions throughout the 20 circuits finishing in that order.

Billy Hopkins clinched his fifth win on the year in the Pure Street cars besting Dietrich Bollinger of Benton for the win. Johnny Houart finished the night third with Patrick Naeger and Dennis Shelby rounding out the top-five.

Houart led at the start of the event for the first two-laps before Hopkins took over the lead. Hopkins conducted class for the final 13 laps dominating the entire event.