[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Wrestlers end regular season on high note

Wednesday, January 30, 2002

SIKESTON -- Sikeston's wrestling team closed out the regular season with an impressive 50-27 win over Poplar Bluff on Tuesday night.

"This was a good way for us to end our regular season," said Sikeston coach Chris Hodgkiss. "We wrestled (Bluff) earlier in the year, and beat them by about the same score. But since that time we've seen them in tournaments and they've wrestled us really tough. I have to give the kids credit tonight. They came out for their last home meet, stepped it up and wrestled well."

After forfeiting the 103 class, Sikeston's Cody Ryan pinned John Gieselma in 1:23 in the 112 division.

At 119, Sikeston's Adam Miller won a 20-3 technical fall over Shawn Wrinkle. At 125, Sikeston's Kyle Weeks pinned Patrick Christna in 1:06. In the 130 class, Sikeston's Cleveland Anthony pinned Adam Lampe in 2:45.

At 135, Sikeston's Cody Weeks pinned Brent Calvin in 5:21. At 140, Sikeston's Justin Keller was pinned by Austin Lampe in 3:47. At 145, Sikeston's Tony Reynolds was pinned by Chris Cookson in 3:31.

In the 152 class, Sikeston's Scotty Keenan lost in overtime to Ryne Godwin, 12-10. At 160, Sikeston forfeited to Tyler Barry.

At 171, Sikeston's Jackie Cowley pinned Doug Anglin in 1:16. At 189, Sikeston's Scott Heuiser pinned Ben Black in 56 seconds. At 215, Sikeston's Stuart Carraway won a 9-4 decision over Josh Emery. In the heavyweight class, Joe Johnson pinned Tyler Bader in 2:38.

Sikeston will travel to Ste. Genevieve on Saturday for the 3A district tournament.

Other teams in the district include Farmington, Ste. Genevieve, DeSoto, Afton, Windsor and Hillsboro.

"It will definitely be a challenge," said Hodgkiss. "We've got two of the top five teams in the state in our district, but with the way the kids are wrestling right now, I expect us to do well. I expect to get quite a few of them through."


Sikeston won the junior varsity match, 42-30. Sikeston winners were Max Hansen (112), Shawn Cooper (119), Daniel Klimmek (125), Derris Butler (135), Kirk Butler (145), Kyle Rodgers (189) and Andy Croxford (215).