[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Sikeston Chamber welcomes area candidates

Friday, July 23, 2004

More than two dozen candidates spoke at the Sikeston Area Chamber of Commerce meeting Thursday.
SIKESTON - With the admonitions: "Be Nice" and "Keep it brief, it will probably get you some votes," Missy Marshall, executive director of the Sikeston Area Chamber of Commerce, turned Thursday's meeting over to local candidates from Scott and New Madrid counties.

Some two dozen politicians stepped forward to the microphone to introduce themselves to the membership. Some emphasized their qualifications, others spoke about their plans if elected, many used humor to capture the audience's attention and almost everyone was "nice."

Speaking from New Madrid County were Democrats: Ronnie Simmons, county assessor; Barry Bennett, First District commissioner; Donald Day, candidate for the Second District commissioner's post; Sheriff Terry Stevens; Terry Adams, candidate for public administrator; and Treasurer Tommy Bradley.

Scott County candidates who attended the meeting were: Jerry Burge and Dennis Ziegenhorn, Democrats for the First District commissioner; Jim Schwaninger, Republican candidate for First District commissioner; Sheriff candidates, Jerry Bledsoe and Rick Walter, Democrats, and Wes Drury, Republican; Jamie Burger, Second District candidate on the Democratic ticket; assessor candidates on the Democratic ticket, Teresa Houchin and Billy Keefer and Republican candidate Dee Cookson; and candidates for public administrator, Sonny Alcorn, Pam Dirnberger, Jim Marshall and Glendella May, Democrats, and Republicans Jay Bledsoe and Lee Trankler.

Also speaking were Jason Crowell, who is seeking re-election as senator of the 27th District; Donnie Owens, Democratic candidate for senate from the 27th District; Eighth District U.S. Representative candidates Democrats Jerry Cass and Dean Henderson; Richard Kline, who filed as a Republican for the Eighth District seat; and Republican State Representative Peter Myers.