[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 73°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Many file for city positions

Wednesday, January 2, 2002

SIKESTON - While some cities are still waiting for citizens to volunteer their time to serve in office, races have developed for posts in other communities. Filing for city office, which began in December, remains open until 5 p.m. Jan. 15 with the election to fill the posts set for April 2.

Because it operates under a city manager form of government, Sikeston's filing closed in December.

The three candidates for the two openings on the Council are: Sue Rogers and incumbents Phil Boyer and Bill Mitchell.

The incumbents sering on Benton's Board of Aldermen have refiled for two-year terms. Thus far unopposed in Ward 1 is Geri Hennemann and in Ward 2 is James Arteme

There are four two-year terms to fill on Chaffee's Board of Aldermen along with a one-year unexpired term. In Ward 1 Darryl Strohmeyer will oppose incumbent Doug Dirnberger for the seat while incumbents Bob Sullivan in Ward 2 and Jesse Nordin in Ward 4 are unopposed for two-year terms. Mitchell Dooley who was appointed to fill out the term in Ward 3 has filed for election to a full-term. No one has filed for the one-year unexpired term in Ward 3.

Morley's Mayor Wilma N. Smith is opposed in her bid for re-election by Jamie Abernathy. Summer Bridges, who was appointed to fill out a term as Ward 1 representative, has filed for election to a one-year unexpired term. No one has filed for the two-year terms open in Ward 1 and Ward 2. The Ward 1 seat is currently held by Jay May while Ron Cookson is the alderman in Ward 2.

With two offices opened in Bertrand, Stephen R. McConkey has filed for a two-year term as alderman in Ward 2 and in Ward 1, there have not been any filings yet.

Charleston operates under a city manager form of government and filing for office closed earlier. There is one opening on the council with Jack Feezor having filed for the position. A race has already developed for the city marshal's post in East Prairie. The three persons who have filed for the office are Danny Lafferty, who was appointed to the job after the resignation of Richard Gregory, Bill Aycock and John Gifford.

Gene Ditto who was appointed mayor moving up from his post as Ward 1 alderman, is seeking election to the one-year unexpired term of office. Each of the city's three ward's will elect a representative for a two-year term with only incumbent Harold Lemons having filed in Ward 2.

Gideon's mayor, Louise Shock, has filed for re-election as has the Gideon Chief of Police James Pickard. No one has filed for the two openings on the board of aldermen. The North Ward post was filled by the late Cleo Patillo and a two-year term in the South Ward will be filled also. The mayor and board posts are for two-year terms while the job of police chief is a four-year term in Gideon.

There is a four-way race for the office of Lilbourn city marshal and the offices of mayor and Ward 2 alderman are contested as well.

Candidates for the office of city marshal to fill a four-year term are incumbent Alvin Bobo, Donald Hanner, Raymond Creasy and Timothy (T.C.) Collins. A two-year term as mayor is sought by Larry Joe Hamilton, who currently fills the job, and Frank Ash. In Ward 2, Larry Joe Holtzhouser is opposed in his bid for re-election as alderman by Danny Ruark. Robert Taylor has filed for re-election as Ward 1 alderman. Both are two-year terms.

Collector Yvonne Morgan has filed for re-election to a two-year term. No one has filed yet to fill the job of police judge in Lilbourn.

There are two openings for two-year terms on the Matthews Board of Aldermen and no one has yet indicated interest in filling the spots. The jobs are currently held by Elaine Vandever in Ward 1 and Armand Porter in Ward 2

Also no one has yet filed for the two two-year terms open on the Morehouse Board of Alderman.

Thus far contests have developed for two of the seven openings in New Madrid's city government which will be filled in the April election. Longtime Ward 1 Alderman Dick St. Mary faces a challenge from Bobby Martin while City Marshal Claude McFerren is opposed in his re-election bid by Tommy Hunter.

Also filing for re-elction are Mayor Mark Baker, Ward 2 Alderman Russell Riggs, City Police Judge Bill Boyd and City Collector Sherry Phillips. In Ward 3, no one has yet to file for the post now filled by Glen Medlin.

Incumbents have indicated their interest in being returned to office in Portageville. Those seeking re-election to two-year terms are Phyllis Pate, Ward 1 alderman; Bruce Martin, Ward 2 alderman; and Bill Foster, municipal court judge.

Risco residents have until 5 p.m. Jan. 15 to file for three openings, including mayor and aldermen from the East and West wards. No one has filed yet for the two-year terms currently held by James Hensley in the East Ward and Brad Lancaster in the West Ward or the four-year mayoral term now held by Don Lancaster.