[Nameplate] Fair ~ 70°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016

Sharks place second in meet

Monday, July 12, 2004

Charleston's Kati Luehmann
SIKESTON -- The Sikeston Sharks placed second in the five-team Sikeston Swim Meet held Saturday.

Kennett won the meet with 1,016 points followed by Sikeston's 653, Charleston (327), Poplar Bluff (251.5) and Farmington (96.5).

For Sikeston, Natalie Stevens took first place in both the girls 8-and-under 25 breaststroke and 25 butterfly. Her time of 22.86 in the butterfly set a Sikeston Sharks team record in the event. Stevens was also a part of the 8-and-under 100 free relay (Morgan Cashmer, Sara Long and Mary Liz Klueppel) and 100 medley relay teams (Hailey Bedell, Klueppel and Cashmer) that also set squad records with times of 1:29.39 and 1:43.53 respectively.

Mary Anne Kendig also had a big day for the Sharks, placing first in the girls 9-10 50 breast, 100 free and 100 IM. She was also a part of the girls 9-10 100 medley team (Emily Bloemer, Amanda Allen and Ashton Young) that placed first. Other individual girls winners were: Kaitlin Burton (6-and-under 25 back) and Aidan Marshall (15-18 100 free).

The Sharks also placed first in the girls 13-14 200 medley relay (Katie Bloemer, Alicia Kennedy, Victoria Moy and Kristin Medley) and the 15-18 200 medley and 200 free medley relays (Jessica Pierce, Lauren Medley, Taylor Allen and Marshall).

Jake Pewitt of the Sikeston Sharks
For the boys, Jake Pewitt placed first in three events (11-12 50 breast, 50 fly and 200 IM) as did Brent Robinett (13-14 100 free, 100 back and 100 breast).

Other individual boys winners were: Gratten Allen (11-12 50 back) and Colson Frakes (6-and-under 25 back, 25 breast).

Two new Southeast Missouri Swim Conference records were also set on the day, both by Charleston's Kati Luehmann. The Charleston swimmer placed first in the 15-18 100 breast with a time of 1:20.81 and 50 free with a time of 29.53.

Sikeston will be in action again Saturday when they take part in the Dexter Swim Meet. The final meet is the conference championship scheduled to take place in Cape on July 26.