[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Wrestlers slam Poplar Bluff

Wednesday, November 27, 2002

SIKESTON -- Sikeston's wrestling team opened the 2002-2003 season on Tuesday with a convincing win over Poplar Bluff.

The Bulldogs won eight matches against the rival Mules by pin.

"It's nice to open with a win," said Sikeston coach Chris Hodgkiss. "I thought we came out with good intensity. I'm happy with the win, but we've still got a lot to work on."

The match started with the 189 class, where Sikeston's Ken Masegian pinned Poplar Bluff's Mark Mannon in 1:01.

Next in the 215 division, Sikeston's Andy Croxford pinned Poplar Bluff's Josh Emery in 5:29.

Heavyweight Joe Johnson wasted no time against Poplar Bluff's C.J. Anglin, pinning him in 28 seconds.

In the 103 division, Bluff's Eddie Merchant won by way of forfeit. At 112, Sikeston's Jeremy Freeman was pinned by Bluff's Matt Boyer in 42 seconds.

In the 119 class, Sikeston's Ryan Beaird pinned C.K. McCall in 1:01. At 125, Sikeston's Adam Miller pinned Bluff's Matt Shelton in just 27 seconds. At 130, Sikeston's Cody Ryan was pinned by Bluff's Adam Lampe in 2:26. In the 135 class, Sikeston's Kyle Weeks won by pin over Bluff's Shawn Wrinkle in 1:17. Tony Reynolds lost by pin to Bluff's Patrick Krishna in 5:00 in the 140 class.

At 145, Sikeston's Cody Weeks was defeated by Bluff's Chuck Hampton by a score of 8-7. In the 152 division, Sikeston's Lance Berry pinned Bluff's Chris Cookson in 3:59. At 160, Sikeston's Josh Monroe was pinned by Bluff's Ryan Godwin in 1:26.

At 171, Sikeston's Scotty Keenan pinned Bluff's Jeremy Downing in 5:15.

Sikeston also won the junior varsity match by a score of 42-22. Sikeston winners were Zack Casey, Kyle Rodgers, Shawn Cooper, Shay May, Trey Oetting, Colen Looney and Malcomb Williams.

Sikeston (1-0) will host Farmington next Tuesday at 6:30 p.m.