[Nameplate] Fair ~ 90°F  
Feels like: 96°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Adrian turns back Hayti in a record-setting win

Monday, December 2, 2002

ST. LOUIS - Kris Saathoff scored four touchdowns to lead Adrian to its first ever state championship title with a 35-22 win over Hayti in Class 1 competition Saturday.

The four touchdowns by Saathoff ties the record for most touchdowns in the Class 1 title game. The record, shared by three other players, was tied most recently by Steve Wolk of Valle in 1991.

Saathoff scored on touchdown runs of one and two yards in the first quarter to give the Blackhawks (13-1) a 14-0 lead.

Jason Covington then scored twice for the Indians (11-2) to tie the score at 14 with 13 seconds left in the first quarter.

Saathoff returned the ensuing kickoff 92 yards for a touchdown on the last play of the first quarter to give Adrian a 21-14 lead.

Adrian took a 28-14 halftime lead after Brett Smith threw a 21-yard touchdown pass to Kalan Hubbard with 4:14 remaining in the half.

Hayti's Pete Peterson had a 16-yard touchdown run in the third quarter before Saathoff answered with his final TD of the game with 9:47 left to play.

Saathoff finished the game with 107 yards on 26 carries.


Matt Prout ran for 197 yards and three touchdowns, leading Platte County to a 34-13 victory over Salem in the Class 3 championship at the Edward Jones Dome.

The state title was the third in a row for the Pirates (14-0), winners of 42 consecutive games.

Prout, a senior running back, scored on a 91-yard run -- the longest in Missouri title-game history -- in the fourth quarter, putting Platte County ahead 28-0. Prout also scored on second-quarter runs of nine and two yards for the Pirates, who led 21-0 at halftime.

Platte County's Chris Hawkins opened scoring with a one-yard TD run with 10:32 left in the second quarter.

Aaron Bernard ran for 108 yards on 11 carries, including a 50-yard TD dash late in the fourth quarter.

Salem (11-3) scored in the fourth quarter on a 26-yard pass from Tyler Dillon to Chad Nichols, and on a two-yard run by Joe Harris, who finished with 117 yards on 25 carries.

The game was a rematch of the Class 3 title game, won by Platte County 32-9.


In Class 5, Darrell Jackson ran for two touchdowns and threw for another, lifting Webster Groves (10-2) over mistake-plagued Raymore-Peculiar (12-1).

Jackson connected with tight end Grady Wilson from 38 yards with 2:13 left, tying the score at 22. An extra point by Will Tullmann accounted for the winning margin for the Statesmen.

Jackson ran for 128 yards on 30 carries and had 243 yards on 12-of-23 passing.

The Panthers' Derek Rasmussen threw for 219 yards and two touchdowns on 15-of-28 passing, but he threw four interceptions.

''One thing about Rasmussen is that he puts a lot of air under the ball,'' Webster Groves coach Cliff Ice said. ''We thought with the speed of our defensive backs that they'd be able to run under the football. They proved that right.''

Raymore-Peculiar also was penalized 12 times for 165 yards.