[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Thomason rolls to first SP win at Sikeston Drag Strip

Wednesday, July 24, 2002

Sikeston Drag Strip owner Ray Poirier, left, congratulates Royce Thomason after winning the Super Pro Class
Local racing news

Here are the weekend racing results from tracks around the area.


SIKESTON -- Malden's Royce Thomason posted his first Super Pro win of the season at the Sikeston Drag Strip Saturday night. With a 6.18 dial, Thomason ran 6.19 at 109 m.p.h. His reaction time was .571. Dexter's Cecil Whitaker took second with a 6.20 dial. He ran 6.21 at 110 m.p.h. His reaction time was .582.

In the Pro Class, St. Louis' Mike Vishino took top honors and won $1,000 for his efforts. With a 6.95 dial, Vishino ran 6.97 at 99 m.p.h. His reaction time was .523. Campbell's Tony Jauques took second with a 6.67 dial. He ran 7.51 at 65 m.p.h. His reaction time was .427 red.

Herrin, Ill., native Jeff Hays won the E.T. Class. With a 8.26 dial, Hays ran 8.25 at 83 m.p.h. His reaction time was .547. Second place went to Bill Hooker, also of Herrin. Hooker dialed 8.11 and ran 8.16 at 85 m.p.h. He red lit with a .462.


BENTON -- Memphis, Tenn racer and World of Outlaw Gumout competitor Jason Sides made an off weekend visit to the Auto Tire and Parts Racepark a profitable one. Sides won the KFVS 12 Winged Sprint car event leading all 25 laps of the caution plagued feature event.

Another Memphis racer Mike Ward started on the pole for the feature event. Sides quickly jumped out the lead at the start.

By the third lap the leaders started to encounter lapped traffic on the fast 3/8th oval. Rainshowers dropped water on the surface just before the hot laps began thus producing a very fast racing surface.

Daron Clayton, Alex Shanks and Mike Dupay battled for the top-five positions while Sides and Ward waged war in the front. The pair dove through lapped traffic with Ward closing in on Sides on several occasion but never being able to make a bid for the lead.

Dupay and Clayton brought the excitement to the crowd fighting for the third position when the pair made contact. The contact sent Clayton flipping at the end of the backstretch finishing off just outside the turn three fence, bringing the fence down and destroying his 2002 Maxim. Clayton was injured in the multiple flip crash.

The two Memphis drivers of Sides and Ward finished the night in first and second. Jason Evans moved from his 14th starting position to complete the night in third. AG Raines and Alex Shanks took the checkers in fourth and fifth position.

In his rookie year of racing, Jason Mueller visited victory lane for his first career win in the Pure Street division, much to the delight of the large crowd.

Mueller passed Jeff Beeson at the start of the race and led all 15 laps of the feature event, which was slowed by three caution flags.

Cape Girardeau racing veteran Danny Sissom jumped into second on the start and held onto the position for 12 laps before falling victim to a flat tire. Dietrich Bollinger then took over the second position. Beeson fell back to third at the start and left the race for a flat before returning to the event on lap eight.

Bollinger held onto second, while Beeson and Sissom came from the back to finish third and fourth. Derek Despain rounded out the top-five finishing order.

Miller Lite Open-Wheel Modified ace Chris Hall scored his fourth victory on the year. Hall took over the lead after Terry Johnson fell out with mechanical problems after leading the first seven laps.

Johnson jumped to the lead at the green flag and looked to be the driver to beat before falling victim to mechanical woes. Hall, Shawn Haynes, John Barnett, Brent Thompson and Jeff Parmer fought for the top-five position throughout the event.

At the checkered flag it was Hall who led the final 13 laps with Jeff Parmer, John Barnett, Brent Thompson and Danny Sissom finishing the top-five spots in that order.

Garrett Moll and Wesley Short picked up another win in the Motorsports Unlimited Cruiser class. Last weeks feature winner Tim Borgfield and Al Besher finished second, while Jason Guardian and Daniel Hancock finished third. Waynes Bartels and Jeff Trankler took the fourth place honors with Rodney Hurst and Edert Bowen completing the top-five.


MADISON, Ill. -- As the driver of Jay Robinson Racing's No. 49 car, Sikeston native Sammy Potashnick finished in 30th place at last weekend's NASCAR Busch Series race at Gateway International Raceway.

The No. 49 team was dealt a difficult blow when their primary motor blew up just three laps into the first practice. The team had to rush to replace the primary motor with a backup motor before race qualifying would take place. Potashnick was unable to run any additional practice laps before qualifying due to the setback.

Although qualifying efforts were hampered, Potashnick was still able to make it into the race. He qualified in the 38th spot with a provisional. A NASCAR-mandated rule forced Potashnick to drop to the back of the pack at the beginning of the race because the primary motor had to be replaced before qualifying. All things considered, the team felt fine about the 30th place finish.