[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 93°F  
Feels like: 102°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Light turnout in Mississippi County

Wednesday, April 9, 2003

CHARLESTON -- Sticky ballots got the tabulating off to a slow start Tuesday evening at the Mississippi County Courthouse. But after some tinkering with the machine by Mississippi County Clerk Junior DeLay and a fan circulating air in between the ballots, the counting process quickly got under way.

"It' was a light turnout," DeLay said about the election. "We didn't really have any contested runners."

Average voter turnout in Mississippi County for an April election is between 25-30 percent, but Tuesday's turnout yielded a low 14-15 percent, DeLay said.

Unofficial totals provided by DeLay's office are as follows: James D. Conn, 425 votes, and Marshall Currin, 328 votes, were selected for three-year terms on the Charleston city council. They defeated opponents Tony Trousdale, 244 votes, and John Tucker, 159 votes.

Mary Anne Mainord is East Prairie's city collector with 155 votes. Carol Marks received 119 votes, and Tracy Grogan had 44 votes.

Running without opposition in East Prairie for another two years in office were: Gene Ditto, mayor, 260 votes; Shirley Pritchett for Ward 1 alderman, 90 votes; Keith A. Grissom for Ward 2 alderman, 72 votes; and Keith P. Mainord, Ward 3 alderman, 93 votes.

It was a close race for the Charleston R-I Board of Education candidates, but in the end it was Dr. Ron Peterson, 452 votes, and Alberta B. Redd, 419 votes, who won the two open seats for directors with three-year terms, compared to opponents Shelby Fox, 415 votes, Patrick Farmer, 337 votes, and Kay Johnson, 235 votes.

Ricky Penrod, 279 votes, and Martin Lucas, 284 votes, were the only two candidates who ran for the two openings on the East Prairie R-2 Board of Education.

Kelly R-4 Board of Education candidates Mitchell Sander, Jim Simmons, Tony Powell and Joe Stuckey, who were seeking two seats for three-year terms received no votes in Mississippi County.

Winning the position of director for the Mississippi County Ambulance District was Jeffrey Small with 130 votes compared to 37 votes for Chris Sanders.

In other election results, Thomas Scherer, 21 votes, who ran unopposed, will serve for two years as Anniston mayor. Also, running unopposed in Anniston, for two-year alderman terms were Lena Brown in Ward 1 with 12 votes, and Geraldine Griggs in Ward 2, with 6 votes. No candidates ran to serve two years as city marshal, but Gary Wybark received 3 write-in votes and Ed Grimley received 1 write-in vote.

Incumbents running unopposed for two-year terms in Bertrand were Charles McKinley, mayor, 54 votes; Danny Freeland, Ward 1 alderman, 13 votes; and Dennis Quertermous, Ward 2 alderman, 42 votes.

Two positions and two candidates equaled two winners for the two-year trustee terms in the Village of Pinhook. Vada Strayhorn garnered 6 votes and David R. Robinson received 4 votes.

Shonda K. Jenkins won the one-year unexpired term for Wilson City's Board of Trustees with 20 votes compared to Essie B. Jones, 11 votes. In a tight race, Wilson City voters selected Jennie Latham, 21 votes, Charles Jackson, 19 votes, and Eddie Mae Washington, 18 votes, to fill the three open seats for two-year terms on the Board of Trustees. Their opponent, Angela D. Gary, had 16 votes.

Running unopposed in Wyatt's Ward 1 to fill a one-year unexpired alderman term was Sam Bowles, 22 votes. Dennis Hodges defeated Joey Cross for the two-year full term for Ward 1 alderman with 22 votes compared to Cross' 6 votes. In Ward 2, Bill Franklin was unopposed in his bid for a two-year term and garnered 25 votes.