[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 73°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

McDonald posts first win at drag strip

Wednesday, April 16, 2003

Sikeston Drag Strip owner Ray Poirier, left, congratulates Dave McDonald after winning the Super Pro Class on Saturday night.
SIKESTON -- Here are Saturday's results from the Sikeston Drag Strip:


Cape Girardeau's Dave McDonald posted his first win of the season in the Super Pro Class. With a 6.18 dial he ran 6.18 at 108 m.p.h. His reaction time was .518.

The second place winner was also from Cape Girardeau. He dialed 6.02 and ran 6.03 at 113 m.p.h. His reaction time was .526.


Gary Doom of Smithland, Ky., won the Pro Class. With a 8.65 dial he ran 8.65 at 78 m.p.h. His reaction time was .501. Second place went to Troy Zimmerman of Carbondale, Ill. Zimmerman ran 7.06 on a 7.06 dial at 95 m.p.h. His reaction time was .530.


Last year's E.T. champion, Tre Hammontree, took top honors in the E.T. Class on Saturday night. The East Prairie native ran 8.04 at 77 m.p.h. with an 8.04 dial. His reaction time was .578. Bill Hooker, of Herrin, Ill, took second place. With a 8.09 dial, Hooker ran 8.09 at 87 m.p.h. His reaction time was .656.

BLODGETT -- SEMO Raceway on Hwy U near Blodgett kicked off the 2003 Kart Season with a spectacular race of 177 total kart entries competing in the Coca-Cola Kart Spring Showdown and shared the winnings of the $12,075 dollar purse.

Karters came from as far away as Wisconsin, Texas, and Florida, as well as Missouri, Kentucky, Tennessee, Illinois, Indiana, and Arkansas competing for the big purse of the season opener.

Darrell Johnson of Kentucky was the big winner of the night, taking the victory lap in the Stock Light with Andy Casper of Illinois taking 2nd and Chad Selk of Chili, Wisconsin taking 3rd. Darrell Johnson would once again find the way to victory lane with his win in the Stock Medium Class, with Brian Smith taking a 2nd place finish and Jeff Walston of Paducah finishing 3rd.

Darrell Johnson and Brian Smith would "swap" places at the end of the Stock Heavy Class with Brian Smith taking the Checkered Flag victory and Darrell Johnson finishing in 2nd spot. Dusty Baggett of Paducah, Ky had the 3rd place position in the Stock Heavy.

The Super Heavy Class had Shawn Selk of Chili, WI taking the Checkered flag, followed by Robert Lowery of Paducah in 2nd and Jody Sullivan of Manville, Fla., taking third place. The Sr. Champ Class was won by Jeff Walton of Paducah, with Jerry Hulen of Symsonia, Ky finishing 2nd and Derek Riley of Calvert City finishing 3rd. The Jr.

Sportsman Champ (8-12) was won by Shawn Knuckles of Poplar Bluff, with Corbin Matthews of Dexter taking 2nd place, and Mason Oberkramer of Broseley finishing in 3rd. The Jr. Champ Class (11-15) was won by Matthew Williamson, with Shane Forbis taking 2nd place and Jared Hendrickson of Kentucky taking 3rd.

Over 35 Stock Heavy had David Taylor of Billings, MO taking the checkered flag victory lap with Ronald Dix of Rosemark, TN taking 2nd and James Sullivan of Paducah finishing 3rd. Yard Karter Destiny Scott of Jackson, Mo., took her first victory lap of the 2003 with a win in that class, holding Eliajah King in 2nd spot and Parker McCormick to 3rd. Destiny would also run her very first race in the Jr. Sportsman Class with a 8th place finish for her first effort in that class.

Jr. Stock (12-15) had Tanner Bohlen of Hortonville, WI taking the Victory lap, and holding Kyle Opelt of Greenwood, WI to 2nd place, and Don Young of Memphis to a 3rd place victory. The Rookie Class (8-12) was won by Dallas Kralovetz of Shawano, WI , 2nd place was won by Cameron Stewart of Paducah, and the 3rd spot went to Mason Baker of Marion, KY.

Find all the results in the scoreboard on page 13.

MALDEN -- After suffering a one week set back due to weather, the Malden Speedway celebrated its 2003 Season Opener with a 105 car night.

Highlighted by a 29 car field in the Modified Division, it was a spectacular start to the year.

In the Modified Feature, Larry Hull of Old Appleton, grabbed the lead from the outside front row and officially led all 20 laps, although Greg King was able to nose ahead for a short time near the end of the race. Hull found a fast track at the very top of the track and was able to give up distance to his foes for momentum throughout the race.

King and Robert Powers waged a pitched battle for second before King took the spot for good on the 11th lap. On lap 18, King briefly grabbed the lead and he went under the white flag side by side with Hull. Hull took over for good coming out of turn 2 on the final lap to pick up the first feature of the season.

Powers held on for third, with Claudie Cook edging out Ronnie Vernon for fourth. Heat winners were King, Hull, Cook, and Powers. Chris Hall won the B feature.

In the Late Model Division, Cary Conaway was dominating in leading from start to finish. Conaway grabbed the lead from pole-sitter Billy James coming out of turn two on the opening lap and never looked back.

Conaway had built a 4-second lead by lap 19 when caution brought him back to the pack. Conaway was up to the task as he flew through the 2-lap dash to pick up the win. James took second on the restart from Jeff Moss and held on for the runner-up spot. Moss, Charles LaPlant, and Chris Jones rounded out the top 5. James and Conaway won the heat races.

Dietrich Bollinger of Benton picked up the victory in the Hobby Stock Feature. Bollinger started on the inside of the second row and found an opening coming out of turn two down low and took the lead from pole-sitter Jamie Robards.

Daniel Bassett and Tony Anglin were soon challenging for the lead, but Bollinger found a clearer path through lapped cars and opened up some breathing room. Bollinger was never challenged late for the win. Bassett and Anglin put on quite a show for the second spot as they swapped it back and forth over the final 3 laps before Bassett took over. Robards took fourth with Paul Keena right on his tail for fifth. Heat winners were Robards, Anglin, and Bollinger.

Johnny Houart moved up from his third row starting position to win the Pure Street Feature. Houart had moved to second by lap 5 and had his sites set on early leader, Billy Hopkins. Houart and Hopkins went side by side through the 7th and 8th laps before Houart took over coming out of turn two.

A lap 10 caution bunched the field, but Houart held on for his win.

Gene Fowler took advantage of the restart to grab second place from Hopkins. Doug Neuhalfer and Red Rice rounded out the top five.

Heat winners were Jared Wagster, Aaron Darby, and Hopkins.

Steve McChristian and Terry Magouirk won a back forth battle with Gene and Chris Kelley to take the Cruiser Feature. Clark & Lance in the #65 car won the B-Main Feature.

BENTON -- After taking a week off the Auto Tire and Parts NAPA Race Park will be back in action this weekend. In the season opener on April 5, 92 cars representing five classes competed at the facility.

"The track on opening night went dry slick very early on in the program which created tire problems for some of the teams. The surface was smooth but the track needed more moisture placed on it and that is exactly what we will be doing in preparing for this Saturday night show," promoter Jerry Wolsey said.

Auto Tire and Parts NAPA Race Park will host the NCRA Outlaw Wing Sprints on May 24th and on June 28th will have the first non-wing sprint show ever to be held at the facility when the Midwest Sprint Car Series comes to ATPR.

The UMP Late Models returned back to ATPR this year the first time since 1997 along with the UMP Modifieds.

The Auto Tire and Parts NAPA Race Park runs each and every Saturday night throughout the spring, summer, and fall of each year presenting the Outlaw Wing Sprints, UMP Late Models & Modifieds, Pure Street Stock and Cruiser Cars.