[Nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Wells posts first win at drag strip

Wednesday, August 13, 2003

Sikeston Drag Strip owner Ray Poirier, left, congratulates Jeremy Wells on his Super Pro Class win Saturday night
(Submittted photo)
Local racing news

Here are the weekend race results from tracks around the area.


SIKESTON - Jeremy Wells posted his first victory of the season in the Super Pro Class. He ran 5.47 on a 5.46 dial at 128 mph. His reaction time was .531. Runnerup Ronnie Egner ran 5.75 on a 5.71 dial at 121 mph with a reaction time of .530.

In the Pro Class, Greg Harty took honors as he ran 6.97 on a 6.96 dial at 93 mph. His reaction time was .518. Runnerup went to Darrel Woolard, who ran 6.25 on a 6.25 dial at 108 mph with a reaction time of .558.

In the ET Class, Gary Doom resumed his winning streak with a 8.17 dial. He ran 8.72 at 77 mph with a reaction time of .525. Bill Hooker finished second with a 8.17 run on a 8.17 dial. He ran 86 mph with a reaction time of .587.

In the Pro Mods, R.E. Smith took first at 173 mph. Second place went to Ron Muenks who ran at 90 mph.


MALDEN -- A regular show record turnout of 138 cars along with a double set of features were on tap at the Malden Speedway Friday Night.

With the double set of features and the B Mains needed because of the large fields, a total of 330 laps of racing were run on the night. Claudie Cook in the #54 Hobby Stock made the most of the night, as he picked up both feature wins.

Carey Conaway and Billy James picked up feature wins in the Late Model Division. Bart Richardson won his fifth Modified feature and Jeff Greene picked up his first. Steve Henley won the opening Pure Street feature, Johnny Houart won the nightcap. Austin & Hamm won their fourth Cruiser feature in a row, but Chris and Jason Simpson ended the streak in the second feature.

The night had a very sad note as Cruiser gasman Kenny Moore of Puxico (90 W) passed away after suffering a heart attack following the first B-Feature. Paramedics at the track responded and administered CPR before transporting Kenny to Missouri Southern Health Care in Dexter.

In the opening Late Model Feature, Cary Conaway led from start to finish to pick up his second victory of the year. Conaway won the opening race of the year, before the points season began. Billy James pulled even with Conaway mid race, but Conaway found a clearer path through lapped traffic to hold on for the win. Late in the race Jeff Moss and James got in a heated battle for the second spot before Moss took the position for good. Kent Bailey and Nathan Rettig rounded out the top five.

Heat winners were Conaway and Moss.

In the regular scheduled feature, Billy James led from green to checker in a race marred by 5 caution flags. Johnny Waters challenged mid race for the lead and finished an apparent second before a weight infraction disqualified him. Carey Conaway held off youngster Nathan Rettig to grab second. Jeff Moss and Todd Hall rounded out the top five.

Heat winners were James, Nathan and Alan Rettig.

Bart Richardson won the opening Modified feature following a 20 lap duel with Jeff Greene. Richardson had a scare mid race when he brushed against lapped traffic, but it was no harm-no foul and he continued to press his lead. Greene pulled even following a lap 12 restart, but Richardson held on through the back straight and went on to his fifth feature win of the year.

Jared Wagster took second. Greg King took fourth following a great back and forth battle with Shawn Haynes, who suffered mechanical problems late in the race and fell out of contention. Jeff Cone edged Claudie Cook for the fifth spot.

Heat winners were Richardson, Greene, and Wagster.

In the second Modified feature, the fans were treated to one of the best races of the year. A 20-lap, five car battle for the lead was waged. Jeff Greene took the lead for good on lap 18. Brandon Maxwell lead early, only fall back as far as fifth later. Jared Wagster and Bart Richardson each took turns leading and while Brad Buck never led, he was never far off the pace either. Richardson held on for second, with Wagster edging Maxwell for third. Buck took fifth.

Heat winners were Wagster, Maxwell, Buck, and Greene.

Tony Anglin won the first B-Feature and raced through the field to an 8th place finish. Joe Strop, in his first night of racing Modifieds, won the second B-Main.

Claudie Cook picked up two feature wins Friday night in the Hobby Stock class, but it took a bit of good luck in the first one. Scott Tracer grabbed the lead from the outset and threatened to run away and hide from the field. Tracer built a 4.5 second lead on second place Cook before a caution on lap 12 brought him back to the pack. Tracer then hit bad luck and had to give up the lead with a flat tire. Cook took advantage of this break and went on to score the victory.

Tracer battled back to a respectable 7th place finish following his late pit stop. Glenn Griffin battled up from the 12th starting position to take second. Tony Anglin, Dietrich Bollinger, and Jason Pennington rounded out the top five.

Heat winners were Adam Brown, Tracer, and Cook.

Cook returned to victory lane in the Hobby Stock nightcap, in another excellent race. Dietrich Bollinger took the lead from the pole and held on for the first 11 laps. A three wide battle for the lead between Bollinger, Cook and Doug Moore went on for all of lap 12 and most of lap 13 before Cook took the lead from the outside. Bollinger held off Moore for second. Gene Fowler and Scott Tracer rounded out the top five. Heat winners were Bollinger, Tim Winchester, and Moore.

Steve Henley picked up his first Pure Street feature of the 2003 season with a convincing win. Henley moved from third to first on the second lap, overtaking both Greg Casey and early leader Johnny Houart. Henley would never trail again, and the only challenges were during 2 restarts following caution periods. Houart held off Casey for second. Chuck Tilley moved up from the 10th starting position to take fourth, Aaron Darby gained even more positions, as he captured fifth after starting 16th.

Heat winners were Jason Palmer, Casey, Joe Strop, Houart, and Henley. B-Main winners were Kyle Berry and Scott Janes.

The Pure Street night cap feature went caution free and saw Johnny Houart return to victory lane for fifth time in 2003 (fourth win in point's events). Houart took the lead on lap three from polesitter Steve Henley following a lap of side by side racing. Houart dominated from that point as he built a five and a half second lead in taking the win. Aaron Darby got a good run out of turn two and took second on the back straight on the eleventh lap. Henley settled for third. Greg Casey and Scott Wicker rounded out the top five.

Heat winners were Henley, Houart, Red Rice, Wicker, and Eric Lacy. The twin B-main winners were Paul Reeder and Jeff Dykes.

Scott Austin and Darrell Hamm picked up their fourth Cruiser feature win in a row in the opening race of the night. They took the lead on lap three following a lap of side by side racing with early leaders McChristian and Magouirk.

Heat winners were McChristian & Magouirk, Dunlap & Faulk, and Austin & Hamm.

Dunlap and Wright won the Consolation race.

Chris and Jason Simpson picked up their fourth win of the year as they won the night cap of the evening. They took the lead on lap four and never trailed again. Heat winners were Simpson & Simpson, Dunlap & Wright, and Smart & Smart. The Consolation race was won by Dunlap and Faulk.

Regular racing again this Friday night in Cruisers, Pure Street, Hobby, Modified, and Late Models.