[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 91°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016

Scott County little league team wins state tournament

Wednesday, July 30, 2003

MACON -- The Scott County Red Sox 11-12 year-old All-Stars won the state championship on Sunday at Macon with an undefeated run through the playoffs.

The Benton-based team defeated the host team Macon 6-3 on Sunday to capture the title.

Scott County will now represent Missouri in the Midwest Plains Regional in Lamar, Col. They open play Saturday at noon against Nebraska. There are nine teams total in the regional.

"It's quite a big deal for us," said Scott County coach Danny Dumey. "It's a dream come true for all these kids. These kids will get to play on a Major League field condensed down to little league. The kids are beside themselves right now. It's quite an honor."

The team started its run with a 9-2 victory against Boonville on Thursday. The Red Sox then ripped Washington 13-3 to advance to the semifinals.

That set up a matchup with county neighbor Sikeston. The Red Sox defeated Sikeston 6-5 on a walk-off grand slam by Austin Greer.

"That took the wind out of their sails," said Dumey of Sikeston. "They were the toughest competition up there -- the best team we faced."

Greer had three home runs over the weekend.

Austin Kight's three-run home run in the championship propelled the team to the victory over Macon.

"We definitely did not expect to win the state championship," said Dumey. "Southeast Missouri produces the top baseball teams. Just to get out of the district was the toughest part. I'd say the three toughest teams that we saw were from this area and our district -- Mineral Area, Sikeston, Jackson and Scott County. After the district, it was kind of downhill for us except for the Sikeston game."

Scott County defeated Mineral Area in the district championship 9-2. Mineral Area was the defending state champions that went on to take fourth in the World Series last year.

Scott County is 11-0 since forming the team.

Scott County draws its 12 players from three different towns. Eight hail from Benton, and two each from Oran and Bell City.

The players are Coby Holland, Josh DeBrock, Austin Greer, Tyler Houseman, Levi Felter, Melvin Johnson, Austin Kight, Jaydon Pobst, Lance Dannemueller, Ryan Essner, Ross Laseter and Dustin Crowden.

Along with Dumey, Dale Pobst and Mike Pobst also coach the team.