[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 93°F  
Feels like: 102°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Civey takes top honors at Sikeston Drag Strip; James wins at Malden

Wednesday, July 30, 2003

Local Racing News

Here are the weekend race results from tracks around the area.


SIKESTON -- Keith Civey took first place in the Super Pro Class with a 5.66 run on a 5.66 dial at 123 mph. His reaction time was .567. Jeff Hays took second place with a 6.70 dial. He ran 6.68 at 101 mph.

In the Pro Class, Greg Harty won with a 6.96 dial. He ran 6.96 at 97 with a reaction time of .547. Second place went to Tony Jacques of Campbell, Mo. He ran 6.48 on a 6.46 dial at 105 mph. His reaction time was .544.

East Prairie native Tre Hammontree took first place once again in the E.T. Class. He ran 7.98 on a 7.97 dial at 83 mph. His reaction time was .576. Runner up went to Charles Seabaugh from Oran. He dialed 8.59 and ran 8.53 at 79 mph. His reaction time was .686.

Saturday, Aug. 2 will see the Out-Law Super-Street Shootout.


BENTON -- Rusty Griffaw of Festus was like a rocket Saturday night at the Auto Tire and Parts NAPA Racepark.

Griffaw drove one of his most impressive races of the year and took his UMP Modified to victory lane to win the Modified main event. Griffaw during the majority of the 20 lap event held a consistent half lap lead on the field and never let up. Taking the second spot in the Modified finale was Josh Cherry, followed by Terry Baker, Karl Adams, and Dean Resinger rounded out the top five for the evening.

In the Pure Street Stock division Sikeston driver Greg Casey drove a very hard race the whole 15 laps as 16 year old Dietrich Bollinger was knocking on his back door. Casey was very happy to get back into victory lane winning the Pure Street main event for the evening.

In the Cruiser division two very familiar names returned right back to the winners circle as the team of Bartels/Trankler captured the Cruiser feature for the night. Racing action at ATPR will continue Aug. 2 when the first ever Benton/Farmington Sprint Showdown takes place between the two rival tracks.



At the Malden Speedway, Sikeston's Billy James won his second Late Model feature of 2003. Bart Richardson returned to victory lane in the Modifieds. Doug Moore came back from one his most frustrating nights of racing two weeks ago to win the Hobby Stock feature in the 007 car.

Jared Wagster took the Pure Street honors as he drove the 84 car for the first time. Scott Austin and Darrell Hamm made it three in a row in the Cruiser class.

In the Late Model feature, James was looking for a dual with Jeff Moss, but it never materialized. Moss jumped out at the start with James right in tow, but as the first lap was completing, Moss suffered a mechanical failure that eliminated him from contention.

James took over the lead and quickly built it to over two seconds. A lap four caution reset the field, and James then had a serious threat from Todd Hall. The pair raced bumper to bumper until Hall decided to make a move on lap 12. Hall looked low coming out of turn two and was even coming out of turn four, but that was as close as he would get.

The lead pair were soon up to lapped traffic and James found the quicker path and took the checkered flag. Hall's tires appeared to go away on him late in the race but he was able to hold on for second. Sikeston's Nathan Rettig drove to a solid third place finish. Kent Bailey outdueled Bronson Berry for fourth.

Heat winners were Moss and Berry.


FARMINGTON -- Timmy Montgomery of Fredericktown may have driven the race of his life Saturday night to win the $5,000 sprint car feature at the All-Star Circuit of Champions (ASCOC) event at the St. Francois County Raceway.

Not only were the ASCOC drivers on hand, but so were the National Championship Racing Association drivers as well as the other elite regional drivers. Montgomery, also known as the Fredericktown Flash, entered the night riding a hot streak of three consecutive feature wins at the St. Francois County Raceway, but the elevated level of competition and the additional length of the feature race (40 laps compared to the regular 25) made Montgomery's win even more impressive.

However, Montgomery was not the only area driver to shine on this night as the top five drivers in the feature were all regulars at SFCR. Jerrod Hull, of Sikeston, finished in second place with Tommy Worley Jr. of Bismarck taking third, Jimmy Moughan of Springfield, Ill. fourth and Steve Short of Farmington fifth.


FREDERICKTOWN -- Fifteen-year-old Mike Meyer once again made it a four-person chase towards the RAMS Points Series championship on Friday night as he pulled off a triple crown (winning the feature, the trophy dash and his heat race) at the Fredericktown Raceway.

The win was his first-ever feature win with the RAMS (Racing Association of Mini Stocks).

Despite his outstanding effort, Point Series leader Dave "The Wolf" Wofford of Farmington also turned in a good effort as did Rick Ruch of Perryville who was just a few points shy of the lead himself going into the night. Marty Boyer of Potosi kept his title hopes alive by finishing fifth in the feature on Friday night.


BONNE TERRE -- Todd Dee of Leadwood captured top eliminator honors in the Off Road Modified class Saturday at Big River Sand Drags after defeating Josh Harris of Belgrade in the top eliminator race. Harris previously defeated to Dee to earn first place in the class, but Dee battled back to earn second place and a spot in the top eliminator race.