[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 93°F  
Feels like: 102°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Rodeo wraps up final night

Monday, August 15, 2005

A saddle bronc rider tries to stay on.
SIKESTON - Here are the results from the fourth and final day of the 53rd Annual Sikeston Jaycee Bootheel Rodeo on Saturday.

In bareback riding, Chad Mask took first with 78 points followed by Stetson Herrera with 76 points and William Pittman with 75 points.

In saddle bronc riding, Mike Coon took first with 82 points. Jason Forsythe and Sean Prather followed up with 74 and 71 points, respectively.

In bull riding, Colby Yates took first place with 86 points. Matt Austin took second with 84 points and D.J. Domangue took third with 78 points.

In calf roping, Chad Tibbs took first place in 25.5 seconds. Barry Robertson took second place in 34.5 seconds.

In steer wrestling, Ronnie Fields took first place in 5.3 seconds. Chad Taylor took second in 5.7 seconds. Curtis Griffin took third place in 6.7 seconds.

In barrel racing, Paula Seay took first place in 16.18 seconds, which was the top time of all four days. Lori Tackler took second place in 16.45 seconds and Paige Orstad took third place in 16.72 seconds.

The overall payout for the four-day rodeo was $137,368.20. The top overall winner was Jeffery Wilbert in the saddle bronc riding as he scored 87 points to win $5,671.50.

The other two top winners were Cody Whitney in bull riding scored 87 points to win $5,643 and Bobby Mote in bareback riding scored 88 points to win $5,614.50. Seay brought home $4,040.64.