[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

New Madrid County: Voters re-elect Pardon

Wednesday, November 3, 2004

NEW MADRID - New Madrid County voters decided to stay with the incumbent, re-electing Nancy Goodman Pardon as their public administrator.

Pardon, a Democrat, easily won the only contested countywide race on Tuesday's ballot defeating Republican Gary Henson by a vote of 5,084 to 2,521.

"I'm overwhelmed with gratitude to the citizens of New Madrid County and I look forward to serving another four years," said Pardon as the final votes were tallied by County Clerk Clement Cravens Tuesday evening.

In a breakdown by precinct, Pardon (listed first) won each of the county's 23 precincts and the absentee tallies. They vote was as follows: absentee, Pardon, 309, Henson, 140; Anderson 1 and 2, 327 to 145; Big Prairie 1 and 2, 222 to 120; Big Prairie 3 and Hough, 177 to 128; Big Prairie 4, 272 to 209; Como 1 and 2, 224 to 101; Como 3 and 4, 242 to 133; Como 5, 35 to 12; Lafont 1 and 2, 204 to 77; Lafont 3, 75 to 37; Lesieur 1, 196 to 63; Lewis 1 and 2, 338 to 161; Lewis 3 and 4, 150 to 15; Lewis 5, 35 to 0; New Madrid 1, 236 to 110; New Madrid 2 and St. John, 385 to 157; New Madrid 3, 280 to 128; New Madrid 4, 106 to 61; New Madrid 5, 74 to 37; Portage 1, 425 to 115; Portage 2, 624 to 140; Portage 3, 45 to 38; West 1 and 2, 212 to 167; and West 3 and 4, 70 to 49.

Cravens said the 7,955 voters who cast ballots in the general election was the highest number in recent history. He noted that in 1996 the county had 7,700 voters cast ballots while in the 2000 presidential election there were 7,300 ballots counted.

"This was probably as large an absentee ballot vote as we have ever had," said the county clerk. New Madrid County had some 534 requests for absentee ballots with 474 returned properly voted and another 25 absentee ballots which were improperly marked and could not be counted.

In the presidential race, the Bush/Cheney ticket garnered 52 percent of the vote with 4,154 votes while the Kerry/Edwards ticket received 3,714 votes. There were 19 votes cast for the Libertarian candidates Badnarik/Campagna; 17 votes for the Constitutional Party's Peroutka/Baldwin and only one write-in vote for Ralph Nader.

Christopher (Kit) Bond, the Republican incumbent, was the choice of New Madrid County residents for state senator, earning 4,172 votes compared to 3,610 for Democrat Nancy Farmer, 36 for Libertarian Kevin Tull and 32 for Constitutional Party's Don Griffin.

For governor, voters crossed the ticket giving Democrat Claire McCaskill the nod with 51 percent or 4,034 votes compared to 3,737 votes for Republican Matt Blunt, 42 votes for Libertarian John M. Swenson and 40 votes for Robert Wells of the Constitution Party.

Democrat Rebecca McDowell Cook was the choice of the county's voters for lieutenant governor. The tally was Cook, 4,061; Peter Kinder, Republican, 3,551; Mike Ferguson, Libertarian, 88; and Bruce Hillis, Constitution Party, 59.

There were 4,129 votes cast for Democrat Robin Carnahan as secretary of state compared to 3,406 for Catherine L. Hanaway, Republican; 132 for Christopher Davis, Libertarian; and 54 votes for Donna Ivanovich, Constitution Party.

Mark Powell, Democrat for state treasurer, was by far the favorite of local voters who gave the candidate 54 percent or 4,111 votes. Sarah Steelman, Republican, polled 2,917 votes while there were 480 votes for Lisa J. Emerson, Libertarian; and 49 votes for Constitution Party's Chris Fluharty.

In the attorney general's race, the choice of local voters was Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon, the incumbent Democrat, who received 4,857 votes. He out-distanced Republican Chris Byrd who had 2,600 votes; David R. Browning, Libertarian, 107 votes; and David Fry, Constitution Party, 73 votes.

The pick to be the Eighth District representative was overwhelmingly incumbent Republican Jo Ann Emerson. Emerson took 64 percent of the vote or 5,063 votes compared to 2,726 votes for Democrat Dean Henderson, 34 votes for Leonard J. Davidson, Constitutional Party and 23 votes for Libertarian Stan Cuff.

In the race to fill the 25th District State Senate seat, New Madrid County voters opted for Democrat Patt Sharp who received 4,016 votes compared to 3,611 votes for Republican Robert (Rob) Mayer and 106 votes for Curtis (Curt) Steward, the Libertarian candidate.

The county is divided into three state representative districts. Those voters in the 160th district selected to return incumbent Republican Peter Myers to office giving him 397 votes compared to 127 for Democrat Jim D. Spooler and five votes for Libertarian Lane Smith. In the 161st District incumbent Republican Lanie Black polled 2,405 votes compared to Democrat Curtis Burch's 1,740 votes while the 162nd District voters selected Terry Swinger, a Democrat, with 2,138 votes compared to 970 votes for Republican Shirley T. Johnson.

Unopposed on the ballot for were: Mark Baker, District 1 commissioner, 3,181 votes; Don Day, District 2 commissioner 2,872 votes; County Sheriff Terry M. Stevens, 6,202 votes; County Assessor Ronnie A. Simmons, 6,348 votes; County Treasurer, Tommy Bradley, 5,984 votes; Jimmy McSpadden, county coroner, 6,138 votes; and County Clerk Clement Cravens, 6,175 votes. All were running as Democrats.

In the Marston special election, there were 115 no votes on the proposition compared to 106 yes votes.

Voters in New Madrid County gave a resounding yes vote to Amendment 3 which would limit the state's gas tax to use on the state's roads. They cast 5,588 yes votes compared to 1,527 no votes.

They also approved retaining the appeals court judges and the supreme court judge. The vote break down was: Teitelman, yes - 3,793, no - 2,581; Parrish, yes - 4,285, no - 1,827; Prewitt, yes - 4,247 and no - 1,825; and Shrum, yes - 4,266 and no - 1,835.

Vote totals, provided by the New Madrid County Clerk's office, are unofficial.