[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Southeast Missouri to induct second class to Hall of Fame

Tuesday, September 9, 2003

CAPE GIRARDEAU -- The Southeast Missouri State University Athletic Hall of Fame will induct its second class on Saturday, Oct. 25.

Three teams and 12 individuals will make up this year's Hall of Fame class.

The teams selected are the 1937 and 1955 football teams that were both unbeaten and the 1991 gymnastics team that won the USGF national title and finished fourth in the NCAA Division I Regional.

Individuals selected include the late Wayne Goddard, 1937 football Little All-American who later served as head football coach at Southeast from 1947 to 1951; Herb Mulkey (1942), a track and basketball standout who held a number of track records; the late Diz Anderson, named to the 1946 football Little All-America second team as a center and linebacker; Tom Upton (1949), basketball standout and team captain who played professional baseball for the St. Louis Browns and Washington Senators; John Wittenborn (1957), a standout lineman and kicker who played several years in the National Football League; Kermit Meystedt (1967), single game basketball scoring leader at Southeast with 52 points in a 1967 game; Curtis Williams (1967), the first African-American athlete at Southeast who was a standout in both basketball and track; Walter Smallwood (1969), all-conference football and track standout who held a number of football rushing records; Clark Wille (1971), track All-American who won seven state titles as a high school track coach and three national titles as a collegiate track coach; Rick Attig (1974), track All-American and football all-conference, also an Olympic track coach in 1988; Cherie Peterson (1991), All-American gymnast who was a two-time national champion; and Pam Kirsch (1993), volleyball Academic All-American who was the 1993 Ohio Valley Conference Female Athlete of the Year.

"We feel we again have an outstanding group of inductees," said Richard Eichhorst, Hall of Fame Committee chairman. "It is a large induction class, but with our Hall of Fame just beginning last year, we have a lot of catching up to do."

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be at the Show-Me Center on Saturday, October 25 and the inductees will also be introduced at the Hall of Fame football game vs. Murray State at 6 p.m. on Oct. 25.