[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 102°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

Parris pulls out win at drag strip

Wednesday, July 23, 2003

Sikeston Drag Strip owner Ray Poirer, left, congratulates Ken Parris and family.
Here are the weekend race results from tracks around the area.

SIKESTON - Making his way back into the Super Pro winner's circle is Dexter's Ken Parris. He ran 5.24 on a 5.24 dial at 132 mph with a reaction time of .516. Also from Dexter, Gary Summers took second with a 5.26 dial. He ran 5.25 at 134 mph with a reaction time of .513.

Rich Komor won the Pro Class with a 7.27 dial. He ran 7.29 at 92 mph with a reaction time of .501. Runner up Dan Smith ran 7.10 on a 7.11 dial at 95 mph. His reaction time was .565.

Sikeston's own David Leonard took E.T. honors with a 11.33 dial. He ran 11.36 at 58 mph with a reaction time of .606. Second place went to Gerald Allen. He ran 7.36 on a 7.37 dial at 92 mph. His reaction time was .693.

BENTON -- Robbie Stanridge of Springfield, Ill., found his way back to victory lane at the Auto Tire and Parts NAPA RacePark Saturday night.

For the fifth time in a row the 38 year old Springfield native has captured the Outlaw Wing Sprint Main Event. Overall for the 2003 season at ATPR Stanridge has won six main events in the Sprint Division and has a big lead in the current point standings. Fulton, Missouri native Lowe Cannell followed Stanridge by finishing second, Shawn King of Cape Girardeau settled for the third place spot in the finale followed by Chad Souders and Andy Holden who rounded out the top five for the evening.

In the Pure Street Davison Dietrich Bollinger returned back to victory lane by winning the Pure Street Main Event. Brent Thompson for the second time this season won the UMP Modified feature followed by Chris Hall, Rusty Griffaw, Danny Resinger, and Danny Sissom who finished in the top five for the evening.

Bartels/Trankler team drove an impressive feature race to win the Cruiser class finale for the night. Racing action will resume at ATPR Saturday July 26th with racing getting underway at 7:00 p.m. For further information call (573) 887-3003.

FARMINGTON -- Timmy Montgomery of Fredericktown is like the Energizer Bunny these days at the St. Francois County Raceway (SFCR) because he just keeps on winning, and winning and winning.

Montgomery picked up his sixth feature win of the season at SFCR Saturday night after taking the lead from Paul Patterson on the seventh lap of the 25-lap sprint feature and then holding on for the victory. Jason Keith led the first five laps of the feature before Patterson gained the top spot.

Joey Montgomery finished in second place with Patterson settling for third, Tommy Worley Jr. was fourth with Bryan Mathews fifth. They were followed by Steve Short, Rod Crabdree, Scott Simion, Jeff Davis and Jason Hunt. Tim Montgomery won the first heat race with Joey taking second and Crabdree third. Keith won the second heat with Patterson second and Short third. Worley won the third heat with Mathews second and Davis third. Patterson won the dash with Keith second and Joey Montgomery third.

In the 600cc Multi class, Dustin Barks of Farmington led from wire to wire to win the feature with Junior Ferguson taking second, Paul Cain third, Tommy Boyd fourth and Casey Barnhouse fifth. They were followed by Joey Boyd, Chuck Fenwick, Jeremy Boyer, Matt Dotson and Tom Harris. Barks won the first heat with Ferguson second and Fenwick third. Tyler Thompson won the second heat with Tommy Boyd second and Jimmy Bridgeman third.

Joey Boyd won the third heat with Barnhouse second and Kent Buckley third.

In the Modified class, Billy "The Kid" Smith of Park Hills caught and passed Tommy Worley Sr. on the 12th lap and then hung on for the victory in the feature. Worley settled for second place with Pete Koenig third, Matt Zimmerly fourth and Timmy Hill fifth. They were followed by Lou Driemeier, Kevin Gegg, Ed Gross, Tony Palmer, Doug Brewster and Joe Kopp. Kenny Kennedy won the first heat with Matt Zimmerly second and Palmer third. Worley Sr. won the second heat with Smith second and Chris Boyd third.

Hill won heat three with Koenig second and Mitch Parmeley third.

In the Hobby Stock class, Jeremy Greenwalt of Caledonia won his fifth feature of the season at SFCR. Doug Savage finished second with Kevin Mosier third, Chris Boyd fourth and Matt Eaton fifth. They were followed by Kasey Nations, Chuck Adams, Charles Adams, Billy Craig and Jim Abshier. Greenwalt won the first heat with Nations second and Savage third. Chuck Adams won the second heat with Boyd second and Mosier third.

Possibly the biggest sprint car show ever to be held at the St. Francois County Raceway will take place this Saturday, July 26, when both the All-Star Circuit of Champions (ASCOC) and National Championship Racing Association (NCRA) sprints come to town to compete against the regional stars in a $5,000 to win, 40-lap sprint feature. The 600cc Multis will also be a part of the show, however the Hobby Stocks and the Modifieds will have the week off. For advance ticket information phone (573) 756-1734 or they may be purchased at Farmington Auto on Karsch Blvd. in Farmington.

FREDERICKTOWN -- Fourteen-year-old Jon Paul Reando made history at the Fredericktown Raceway on Sunday afternoon by becoming the youngest driver ever to win a feature in a full-bodied stock car at the track. Reando started from the pole position in the 20-lap special RAMS Mini Stock feature and lead from start to finish to place his name in the history books.

Reando is one of three young racers with the RAMS (Racing Association of Mini Stocks) that make up what the association loving refers to as the "RAMS Kids," with Reando being the youngest of the group.