[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 100°F
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016

Few local races already on tap

Thursday, December 20, 2007

BENTON -- After a couple days of filing for the general municipal election April 8, many incumbents have still not filed although a few races have already developed.

Filing opened Tuesday and continues until 5 p.m. Jan. 22 for most cities in area. Filing for Sikeston and Charleston, which have the possibility of a primary election, opened Oct. 16 and closed Nov. 20. Incumbents Sue Rogers in Sikeston and Jack Feezor in Charleston are running without opposition for new terms in office.

In Miner, three candidates have filed so far: incumbent Betty Barnes for another term as mayor; incumbent Frank Tatum for a new term as Ward I alderman; and Ricky Hampton for the Ward II position on the Board of Aldermen. The Ward II incumbent, Peggy Holman, has not filed.

* "We'll have four council members, one from each ward, that are running, and the mayor," said Cindy Uhrhan, city clerk for Scott City.

Two candidates have filed for the four-year mayor position: incumbent Tim Porch and Charlotte Fay Cannon.

The incumbents in Ward 1, Bill Schwartz, and Ward 2, Jim McCarty, have not yet filed, Uhrhan said.

Incumbent Kirk Lewis has filed for a new term in Ward 3 and there are three candidates for the Ward 4 seat: incumbent Robert Henderson, Norman Brant and Andrew Bard.

All the council positions are two-year terms.

* Incumbent Jim Arteme has filed in Benton's Ward 2 for another term while the incumbent in Ward 1, Geri Lynn Hennemann, has not yet filed.

These are the only two positions in Benton up for election this April, according to Connie Barnett, Benton's city clerk.

* In Oran, only the position of city collector has a candidate so far as Marcia Roslen, the incumbent, has filed.

Up for election are the positions of mayor and Board of Aldermen seats in each of the city's four wards.

"No one has signed up yet," City Clerk Melissa Pobst said.

Elected to these positions on April 4, 2006, were Tom Urhahn, mayor; Billy Senciboy, Ward 1; Mike McVay, Ward 2; Jimmy Westrich, Ward 3; and Gaylon Bryeans II, Ward 4.

* One council seat in each of the Chaffee's four wards are also up for election in April, according to Chaffee City Clerk Diane Eftink.

In Ward 1, Jack Simpson has filed while the incumbent, Leon Stricklin, has not.

A race has already developed in Ward 2 with Jerry A. Childers and Charles Huey both filing for the seat while the incumbent, Alice McFerron, has not yet signed up.

Incumbent Bill Dysinger in Ward 3 and incumbent Jesse Jack Nordin in Ward 4 both have filed for new terms with no opposition yet.

* The city of New Madrid already has a race for mayor with two candidates filed so far: incumbent Donnie Brown and challenger Furgeson Hunter, according to John Gilbert, city administrator.

Incumbent Brad Kolwyck filed for another term in Ward 3 and G.L. Keene, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of the position vacated by Dick Bodi, has filed for a full term in Ward 1.

The incumbent in Ward 2, Russell J. Riggs, has not yet filed for another term. "Although he hasn't come in and filed yet, I've been told he is going to," Gilbert said.

Mary Brockman, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term for the Ward 3 position vacated by Larry Tollison, has filed for the one year remaining in that position.

Two of the positions that were on the ballot for the April 4, 2006, election will not be on the ballot this April.

The collector position was changed from an elected position to an appointed position. City officials opted to contract with the county collector to collect city taxes, Gilbert said.

The other position, police judge, was also changed to an appointed position instead of an elected position by the Board of Aldermen.

"But that doesn't go into effect until April. We had to have a special election to fill out Bill Boyd's term," Gilbert said. "He reached the maximum age restriction so he stepped down. He had to retire by law."

As nobody signed up to run for the unexpired term, the write-in candidate with the most votes, Amy Preyer, filled the position.

"So she is serving as the interim judge," Gilbert said. "In April, the mayor will appoint a judge with the approval of the Board of Aldermen."

The board at that time also amended city ordinances to require that position holder to be an attorney licensed to practice in the state of Missouri, Gilbert noted.

* In Morehouse, one seat each from Ward 1 and Ward 2 are up for election.

Donna Brashears resigned from her Ward 1 position and Mike Dillard was appointed to fill her unexpired term.

The incumbent in Ward 2 is Jackie Hays Sr.

"Nobody has filed," said Kathy Coatney, city clerk.

* Portageville has no races yet, according to Vella Moody, city clerk.

In Ward 1, Delmar Edgar has filed while the incumbent, Rick Rhoades, has not.

In Ward 2, incumbent Rodi Walker has filed for re-election.

Also up for election April 8 is a two-year term as Portageville's municipal judge. So far, only the incumbent, Bill Foster, has filed for this position.

* Incumbents in Lilbourn all filed for new terms early, according to Shelley Mainord, city clerk.

Incumbent Dale Ray and Frank Ash have filed for mayor; incumbent Robert Taylor has filed for another term in Ward 1; incumbent Alvin Bobo for another two years in the Ward 2 seat; incumbent Yvonne Morgan to continue serving as city collector; and incumbent Richard Kolwyck for re-election as municipal judge.

* In Matthews, incumbent Eddie Polk has filed for a full-year term in Ward 1.

Also in Ward 1, Keith Duke has filed to fill the one year remaining in the unexpired term vacated by Jimmy Burch who resigned from the position to serve as mayor after the former mayor, Gene Curtis, died July 11, according to City Clerk Michael W. Pyles.

No one has filed yet for the Ward 2 seat presently held by Armand Porter or for the one-year unexpired term as mayor.

* There are three positions up for election in East Prairie: one Board of Aldermen seat for each of the city's three wards.

"At this point, no one has filed," said Lonnie Thurmond, city administrator.

Incumbents are are Shirley Pritchett in Ward 1, Kenny Walton in Ward 2 and Karen Coffer in Ward 3.

All of the ward representatives are elected to serve two-year terms.

* Bertrand's city clerk, Diana Atchison, said the Ward 1 seat held by James L. Baker and the Ward 2 position held by Stephen R. McConkey are both up for election this year.

There have been no filings for office yet, she said.

* In Wyatt, all three incumbents have filed for new terms in the three positions up for election: Donald Williams for mayor, David W. Stephens for the Ward 1 representative and Robert J. Dugan Sr. for a Ward 2 seat, according to Llula Clark, city clerk.

Williams already has a race to run for re-election as Riley E. Fitzgerald Jr. has also filed for mayor.