[Nameplate] Fair ~ 90°F  
Feels like: 104°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

VNA employees earn recognition

Sunday, December 23, 2007

Kim Laug, VNA Employee of the Year
MALDEN -- Each year, VNA celebrates the accomplishments of key staff at an Awards Banquet in their honor during National Home Health and Hospice Month. This year, the banquet was held at the Malden Community Center.

Teresa McCulloch, CEO, began with "I applaud you for the continued improvement in patient outcomes. Home Health Compare, which is available to everyone on Medicare's website (www.medicare.gov) has consistently represented our patients improving faster and better than all other home health care providers in southeast Missouri. This report compares all home health agencies in the United States with one another in ten different facets of patient care. We were good at the beginning of the year and have improved each quarter since. It is the hard work of the VNA team which is giving our patients an advantage over all the others. Thank you!"

The most recent addition to the VNA's litany of services is the Consumer-

Directed Care which is now one year old. The program assists clients who prefer to hire and supervise their own caregivers. In most cases, the caregiver is a family member over age eighteen, not a spouse, who needs work and is capable and willing to clean and cook for another family member. They are paid for the care they give through Medicaid. VNA writes the paychecks and is available to assist with training if the "employer" requests it.

Top honors were given to Jeanie Selby, Home Health Aide of Wappapella with the presentation of the Jackson L. Burke Excellence in Home Care Award. She is recognized for her constant devotion to patients in the western-most region of the 14-county service area where she assists patients in three different programs: home health, hospice and in-home services, with bathing and other personal hygiene tasks.

"Her patients tell us they would not know how they would manage without her. She's the source of much comfort and the reason so many are able to stay in their own homes to recover," noted Mary Rodery, VNA clinical Director. The Warren Manning Commitment to Service Award was given to Pat Huttegger of Cape Girardeau. Pat is the Quality Assurance Director. She has been a key factor in VNA's ability to constantly continue to improve patient outcomes as evidenced by Medicare's Home Health Compare. Pat keeps everyone abreast of ways to improve the care provided. Sadly, Pat plans to retire at the end of the year to have more time to spend with her new grand-

daughter. She was given a token of appreciation for her 22-year commitment to VNA. She will be sorely missed.

The Layton Pickard Memorial Award was given to Roger Jespersen of Charleston. He is a dedicated board member who conscientiously shares his insight on matters important to the mission and growth of VNA. His recommendations are always timely and often key to VNA providing the services so vital to the community.

Key Employees of the Year from five VNA programs were recognized. VNA Employee of the Year is Kim Laub of Sikeston who manages the VNA Home Medical Equipment warehouse in Dexter. VNA Home Health Employee of the Year is Amy Manning of Qulin who is the Total Care Manager in the Dexter office. VNA Home Health Nurse of the Year is Pam Hampton, RN of New Madrid and Therapist of the Year is Brian Land of Jackson who provides physical therapy throughout the Poplar Bluff region.

VNA Hospice Employee of the Year is Apryl Craft, LPN of Sikeston. "Apryl is constantly telling me she loves her job," noted Diane Chappell, RN Hospice Director, "and her patients love her. She sees to it that they always have what they need, sometimes working well into the night to make sure all is as it should be for them."

The Hospice Volunteer of the Year is Brenda Gatewood of Kennett. "Brenda works full time, is attending nursing school and still takes time to provide friendly visits and family support to hospice patients, commented Helen Sander, RN Volunteer Coordinator.

VNA Private Duty Employee of the Year is Stephanie Geohagen of Kennett who is the administrative assistant to the Private Duty Director. VNA Private Duty Above and Beyond Award was given to Christina Hahs, LPN of Jackson.

VNA Community Services Employee of the Year is Tabitha Hyde of Kennett, Homemaker Team Leader and In-Home Nurse of the Year is Kim Mooney, LPN of Sikeston. Named as Homecare Aides of the Year for their respective service areas were: Pansy Clark of Caruthersville, Londa Barnett of Clarkton and Ladona McNulty of Cape Girardeau.

VNA Home Medical Equipment Employee of the Year is Elana Miller of Senath. Awarded Administrative Support Employee of the Year was DeAnne Mundy of Steele who oversees employee benefits and education in the Human Resources Department.

30 Years: Sandra Spain, Billing Supervisor for all programs, lives in Kennett.

20 years: Lu-Ann Baugher and Ruth Hodge of Puxico, Pansy Clark of Caruthersville, Cathy Jefferson of Hornersville, Linda Boehl of Dexter, Lavern Cooper of Lilbourn, and Vera Gilbert of Essex.

15 Years: Shirley Gibbs of New Madrid, JoAnn Hayes of Marston, Rebecca Kemp of Holcomb, Elizabeth Washington of Hayti, Bertie Davidson, Shirley Gulley and Janta Johnson of Dexter, Debra Plunk of Campbell, Helen Winfrey of Bell City, Donna Dorris of East Prairie, Rita Kelly of Millersville and Vicki Rhew of Kennett.

10 Years: Melba Ash and Annette Daniel of Lilbourn; Barbara Higgins, Sheila Mount, Christine Turner, Faye Henfling, and Linda Biggs of Kennett; Mary Mathis of Portageville; Shirley Robertson of Steele; Kathie Parker of Malden; Sandra Atchison and Linda Coleman of Charleston; Dianna Carter and Callie Smoot of Cape; Barbara Redferring of East Prairie; Gail Groves of Bertrand, Becky Huffman of Mountain View and Carol Jones of Naylor.

10-year Hospice Volunteers: Moneka Brown, Hallie Pigmon and Nadine McComb of Kennett; Jessie Kincaid of Van Buren.

5 Years: JoAnn Blankenship of New Madrid; Janice Cecil of Bragg City; Betty Cook, Michelle Huddleston, Sherlene Norris, and Sandra Sweatt of Portageville; Peggy Hartman, Karen Lively, Alberta Stevenson and Lavoris Taylor of Lilbourn; Linda Mansfield of Arbyrd, Denise Taylor and April Wilson of Kennett; DeAnne Mundy of Steele; Betty McGowin and Karen Brown of Clarkton; Laconda Anthony of Bloomfield; Sandra Brandon and Norma Geer of Poplar Bluff; Eva Jean Cravens and Heather Lewis of Parma; Carol Lemmons of Essex; Peggy Moore of Dexter; Evelyn Null of Puxico; Tracie Cartwright, Betty Maynard, Kathleen Jackson and Linda Weakley of East Prairie; Summer Childers and Tonia Gonzalez of Cape; Shirley Kasten of Uniontown; Angela McGuire and Donna Fisher of Chaffee; Mika Parker and Kim Laub of Sikeston; Aretha Sherrell and Dorothy Siars of Charleston; Dorothy White of Marble Hill; and, Donna Grubb of Van Buren.

5-year Hospice Volunteers: Joe Rose and Leah Mobley of Kennett; Brenda Daugherty of Portageville; Susan Hoffman and Judy Morrow of Sikeston; Nancy Holmes of Oran and Goldie King of Poplar Bluff.

Rare Treasure: April Wilson, Data Coordinator, of Kennett

Lucky Us: Donna Bradley, Billing Clerk, of Kennett

Helping Hand: Pat Wilson, Billing Clerk, of Campbell

Top Dog: Dana Mungle, Billing Clerk, of Kennett

Fortunate Find: Michelle Johnson, In-Home Payroll Clerk, of Kennett

Essential Piece: Fern Taylor, Client Care Coordinator, of Essex

Whale of a Job: Chris Nunnery, Accounting Assistant, of Hornersville

Power of One: Donna Grubb, RN, Hospice Nurse, of Van Buren

Making a Difference: Karen Robinson, RN, Hospice Nurse, of Portageville.