[Nameplate] Fair ~ 79°F  
High: 82°F ~ Low: 73°F
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Scott County: Water district Ok'd

Wednesday, April 6, 2005

BENTON - Residents in rural Scott County will now have the option of hooking on to the county's proposed public water supply district as the measure passed, 790 votes to 347 votes, during Tuesday's municipal election.

Scott County Clerk Rita Milam said voter turnout was 17 percent - up from 14 percent turnout last April -and provided the following election results, which are unofficial:

Those in the Illmo Special Road District decided not to dissolve their road district with 243 people voting against the measure and 161 voting in favor of it. In addition, voters selected Terry Gettings as the commissioner of the special road district. Gettings nabbed 146 votes followed by Edwin Ledure, who received 129 votes, and Bill Zimmerman, who had 109 votes.

In Miner, Roger Moore nabbed 205 votes and was chosen over Tim Holman, who received 58 votes, to serve another four years as city police chief. In a close race for the Ward 1 seat on the Board of Alderman, Marlene Anglin narrowly defeated Darlene Justice with 63 votes to 57 votes. Justin Medley vanquished Mark D. Thorne, 57 to 50, for the Ward 2 Board of Alderman position. The incumbent city collector, Ellen Davis, was re-elected to her position. She defeated challenger, Beth Brickell-Smith, 201 to 55 votes.

Voters in subdistrict 3 of the Southern Scott County Ambulance District chose Tom Marshall, 156 votes, over Shirley J. Tetley, 83 votes, to fill the three-year term.

Former Sikeston City Council member Sue Rogers, sole candidate for the open at-large City Council seat in Sikeston, received 1,280 votes.

Running without opposition in Benton were incumbents Beverly Riley, for city collector, 126 votes; Howard Bollinger in Ward 1, 58 votes; and David Mack in Ward 2, 65 votes.

Wayne Hampton ousted incumbent Ronald E. Davis for Chaffee's Ward 1 seat with a vote of 25 to 18. Incumbent Debra Eichhorn kept her Ward 2 seat on the City Council defeating Hope Huey , 33 votes to 15 votes. Ward 4 incumbent Tom Cunningham, 40 votes, was unopposed and Ward 3 had no candidates.

In Oran, incumbent Ed Evans, 21 votes, beat Ronnie Diebold Sr., 4 votes, for the Ward 1 Board of Alderman seat. The Ward 2 incumbent, Gil Roslen (42 votes) was defeated by challenger, Leroy Eftink (50 votes). No candidates were listed for Wards 3 and 4; however Billy R. Senciboy received 1 vote as a write-in candidate for Ward 4.

Scott City voters filled several positions on their Board of Aldermen. Jim McCarty, 36 votes, won the seat for the unexpired Ward 2 term. His challenger, John Crail, nabbed 16 votes. Ron Cummins received 58 votes and was selected over Susie G. Chapman, who had 35 votes, for the unexpired term in Ward 3; and Ronald Worl won the unexpired Ward 4 term over Christopher Klughart, 74 votes to 10 votes. For full two-year terms, in Ward 2, incumbent Terry Gettings, 42 votes, defeated Charles Klughart, 12 votes; Incumbent Norman Brant, 60 votes, won the Ward 4 seat over Larry G. Taylor, 27 votes. Ward 1 sole candidate, incumbent Jeff Curnell, received 86 votes while Ward 3 incumbent Robert E. Tyler, also unopposed, received 79 votes.

In Commerce, for the two two-year Board of Trustee seats, Bill Bailey received the most votes with 22 while Lois Lee Huck Ramsey and Coy Dwayne Vetter tied at 16 votes.

Sammy Slipis, 37 votes, was the sole candidate in Morley's Ward 1, and Wade Amelung, 29 votes, was unopposed in his bid for the Ward 2 seat.

Warren Grant and Clay Graviett were the only candidates for Vanduser's three open Board of Trustees positions. Grant received 24 votes and Graviett had 23 votes.

Kelso residents voted to increase the city sales tax from one-half of 1 percent to 1 percent with 83 yes votes and 19 no votes. Mary Ann Lumsden, 94 votes, Donald K. Reinagel, 94 votes, and Walter D. Seyer, 97 votes, were awarded the three Board of Trustee seats.

Voters in Blodgett also had three choices for their three Board of Trustee vacancies: Ruby Ann Hurst, 34 votes; Mike Riley, 32 votes; and Jamie Wagoner, 29 votes.