[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Local school bond issues approved

Wednesday, April 6, 2005

BENTON - It was a sweet victory for the Sikeston R-6 and Kelly R-4 schools as voters in both districts approved their general bond obligations during Tuesday's municipal election.

"The Board of Education was extremely pleased with the citizens of Sikeston," said Sikeston R-6 Board of Education President Greg Colwick. "We've always felt the public school systems are very dear to them - and they showed that by going to the polls and voting."

Nearly 74 percent of the Sikeston R-6 voters approved the $4.53 million general obligation bond issue to construct, improve, furnish and equip new science, math and other classrooms and facilities at the senior high school campus.

"Our main concern - since there were no issues on the ballot- was making sure people would get out and vote," said board member Julie Crader-Dolan. "And now the citizens have continued the tradition of never turning down any bond issue."

Sikeston's measure received 1,471 yes votes and 521 no votes in Scott County, and 267 yes votes and 193 no votes in New Madrid County. The precinct votes are as follows: Airport: 199 yes, 41 no; Davis: 480 yes, 104 no; Kingshighway: 203 yes, 87 no; Broadway: 77 yes, 52 no; West Malone: 78 yes, 27 no; Park: 156 yes, 39 no; Miner: 204 yes, 138 no; McMullin: 4 yes, 0 no; Salcedo: 45 yes, 30 no; and absentee: 25 yes, 3 no.

Colwick said the board is looking forward to the construction of the new math and science center.

"We're ready to get rolling," Colwick said. "We're going to notify the architect and get started on the process. We want to get started as soon as possible." And after seven attempts over the past eight years, 69 percent of Kelly's voters were in favor of the $3.5 million in general obligation bonds.

Despite the fact the issue was a no tax-increase, Kelly Superintendent Don Moore said he's learned not to take anything for granted.

"People kept coming by and saying they voted yes so we were cautiously optimistic," Moore said.

The issue passed with 607 yes votes and 273 no votes. The funds will be used to build, improve, furnish and equip school facilities including the construction of additional classrooms, science and computer labs, a library/

media center and additional improvements at the high school; and the renovation of existing high school classrooms to serve as middle school and elementary school classrooms.

"It's a great day for the kids," Moore said, commending the district's building committee. "Now we've got a lot of work ahead of us."

Both measures needed a four-sevenths, or 57 percent, super majority vote to pass.

School board races in Scott County also ran tight Tuesday with the following unofficial results:

Kelly Board of Education incumbents Sonny Scheffer, 544 votes, and Mike Riley, 491 votes, will return for three more years as will new board member Becky Wade, 533 votes. Jennifer Felter Gadberry followed closely behind with 456 votes and Junior Gean garnered 229 votes.

In the Scott County Central School District, incumbents Mark Freed, 159 votes, Richard "Dick" Griffin, 143 votes, and Michael T. Blissett, 136 votes, were re-elected for three-year terms defeating their challengers, Tanya Johnson Monroe, 75 votes, and Lisa M. Lewis, 55 votes.

Oran R-3 voters chose three of eight candidates to fill three-year terms on their school board. Larry Chasteen received the most votes with 214 followed by incumbent Jerry Lange, 167, and Gerard Dirnberger, 148; Kim St. Cin, 110; Gary "Pedi" Senciboy Jr., 84; Eric Urhahn, 78; Dallas Pettit, 69; and Robert Williams, 20.

Filling the three openings on the Scott City R-1 Board of Education will be Wayne Pettit, who netted 269 votes; Sally Porch, 244 votes; and William Wilthong, 210 votes. Roger Buckner received 174 votes while Brian Friese nabbed 133 votes.

Steve Seyer, Scott Horman and Melissa Hamilton were elected to the three positions for three-year terms in the Chaffee R-2 District. Seyer received the most votes with 162 followed by Horman, 149 votes, Hamilton, 121 votes, Mark Perkins, 120 votes, and Douglas S. McClellan, 66 votes.

No election was necessary for Sikeston R-6 school district board members as board president Greg Colwick and board members Rick Adams and Bill Priday were all unopposed in their bids for new terms.

Kelso C-7 District incumbents Sherri Grojean, Fred Higdon and Dorothy Deason were also unopposed.