[Nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Layton Pickard

Tuesday, September 13, 2005

CHARLESTON - Joseph Layton Pickard, 91, died Sept. 12, 2005, at the Missouri Delta Medical Center in Sikeston.

Born July 7, 1914, in Benton, he was the son of the late Lee Andrew and Mary Alma Layton Pickard. After graduating from the University of Missouri-

Columbia, he spent four years in the FBI. He worked for Streigle Auto Company, the Cotton Exchange Bank and with his family in the Pickard Insurance Agency in Kennett. In 1960, he was appointed Commissioner of Finance for Missouri, working in Jefferson City. Following this appointment, he moved his family to Charleston, where he became president of First Security State Bank. While in Charleston, he was very active in the community. He served on the boards of the St. Francis Medical Center, the Missouri Delta Medical Center, the Visiting Nurses Association, the Charleston United Methodist Church, the Community Sheltered Workshop and the Boy Scouts. He was honored in 1973 as Charleston's Man of the Year.

On April 29, 1939, he married Symantha Louise "Mancy" Dickey who preceded him in death on Dec. 17, 1993.

One brother, Lee Andrew "Buddy" Pickard Jr., also preceded him in death.

Survivors include: two daughters and sons-in-law, Lee Ann and Jim Cullison of Charleston and Jane and George Morris of Clarks Summit, Pa.; one son, Joe Pickard of East Prairie; six grandchildren, Samantha Jayne Morris of Pittsburg, Laura Jones of McKinney, Texas, Suzy Mason of Monroe, Ga., Mary Pruitt of Knoxville, Tenn., Michael Jones of Charleston and Dr. James Cullison of Carrollton, Ga.; and nine great-grandchildren.

Visitation is from 5 to 8 p.m. today at the McMikle Funeral Home. Services will be conducted at 11 a.m. Wednesday at the United Methodist Church in Charleston with the Rev. Roger Jespersen officiating.

Burial will follow in the I.O.O.F. Cemetery.

Pallbearers will be: Tom Streigel, Blair Moran, Rick Reed, Harvey Cooper, Greg Luehmann and Reginald Young.

Honorary pallbearers will be: The First Security State Bank Board of Directors, Tom Brown III, John E. Burke, Don Burnett, Elott Raffety, Hunter Rolwing, Ernest E. "Pete" Story, Sam E. Story Jr., W. S. Vandivort, William Clayton Vandivort, Rebecca S. Dugan, Thomas H. Story and Wendell Choate; and the Community Sheltered Workshop Board of Directors, Jerry Mickey, George Swogger, Mary Mitchell, Wayne Ruesler, Clayton Vandivort, Pete Burns, Larry Kellett and Pat Blackman.

Memorial contributions

may be made to

Community Sheltered Workshop

P.O. Box 586

Sikeston, MO 63801