[Nameplate] Fair ~ 79°F  
High: 83°F ~ Low: 61°F
Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2016

School board races are set

Friday, April 1, 2005

BENTON - School board races in Scott County are as follows:

* In the Scott County Central School District, three positions currently held by president Mark Freed and members Richard "Dick" Griffin and Michael T. Blissett are up for grabs. All incumbents are in the race for new three-year terms in addition to challengers Tanya Johnson Monroe and Lisa M. Lewis.

* Voters have eight people to choose from for the three positions on the Oran R-3 School District board: Gerard Dirnberger, Dallas Pettit, Gary "Pedi" Senciboy Jr., Eric Urhahn, incumbent Jerry Lange, Robert Williams, Larry Chasteen and Kim St. Cin. Incumbents Larry Hatfield and Mark Eftink chose not to run.

* Openings on the Scott County R-1 Board of Education will be filled with three of the following candidates: William Wilthong, Sally Porch, Wayne Petitt, Bryan Friese and Roger Buckner.

* Melissa Hamilton, Steve Seyer, Mark Perkins, Scott T. Horman and Douglas S. McClellan are the choices for the three school board seats in Chaffee's R-2 School District.

* Several people have filed for the three vacant positions on the Kelly R-4 School District Board of Education: incumbents Sonny Scheffer and Mike Riley; and Junior Gean, Becky Wade and Jennifer Felter Gadberry. Current member Teresa DeWitt is not running for re-election.

Voters in this district will also decide whether or not to issue $3.5 million in general obligation bonds to build, improve, furnish and equip school facilities including the construction of additional classrooms, science and computer labs, a library/media center and additional improvements at the high school; and the renovation of existing high school classrooms to serve as middle school and elementary school classrooms.

* In the Kelso C-7 District, there are three incumbents running for re-election without opposition: Sherri Grojean, Fred Higdon and Dorothy Deason.

* No election is necessary for Sikeston R-6 school district board members as board president Greg Colwick and board members Rick Adams and Bill Priday were all unopposed in their bids for new terms.